You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-12 09:18:25

nightfrost

an Arch-derivative distro?

I'm going to propose something here that I hopefully will not regret. I've been using Arch for some time now and I must honestly say that after a couple of weeks of using it, I realized that this is where I stop. Arch is my kind of Linux and I have no need to start using any other distros. I'm not a programmer, I'm one of the new-wave Linux Desktop users. I originally moved over to Linux due to ideological/philosophical issues, and now I'm sticking around for more reasons than that. With this rant, I'm trying to say I've never felt like your average power-user/programmer, etc. I manage to solve my problems most of the times, I fiddle around, I write bash scripts, and I like the arch philosophy. I like the whole KISS-thing.

Now, the feeling I get when I roam the Arch forums is that there's quite a few people here who have an instinctive disdain for gui-apps. And more importantly, lots and lots of people don't want the forums here to be flooded with newb-posts. Me included; I really like the fact that most arch users are competent users. However, the general community attitude seems to me to be comprised of an internal conflict. On one hand, things are as described above: "keep the newbs out". On the other hand, there is the nagging feeling that "this distro is freaking sweet, I want to share it with the world!"