You are not logged in.

#1 2008-02-22 17:05:13

evdvelde

Linux magazines

I am looking for a decent Linux magazine to subscribe to. Since I have a Master in Computer Science, it should not aim for a newbie audiance, but I do not want to get a headache when reading either smile  It must be fun to read but informative for advanced users. So:
- Information about what moves in the Linux community (kernel stuff etc.)
- Information about applications and interesting new techniques
- Not too much pages on hardware, I just like to call it 'the stuff inside' and do not like reading reviews of CPUs and motherboards big_smile
- Fun: Open source games, fun techniqes in several DEs and applications.

I have bought linux format (http://www.linuxformat.co.uk/) and Linux magazine (http://www.linux-magazine.com/) a couple of times and they seem to be interesting, but perhaps you can give me tips on which I should subscribe to. Which one of these? Or perhaps even another one?

Greetings!

#2 2008-02-22 17:10:36

Zeqadious
Website

Re: Linux magazines

I subscribe to Linux Pro Magazine which I find usually informative.  Sometimes its a definite Hit or Miss.
  They take a specific distro each month and focus on it.  The Magazine features different programming execises and applications they test and they do them on the distro they are focusing on which is a nice twist imo from the run-of-the-mill-this-is-how-its-done-on-ubuntu situations I see often.  There is always an article covering upcoming OSS projects and Kernel news/developments.

http://www.linuxpromagazine.com/ has tons of archived editions to check out beforehand if your so inclined.

Zeq

"Till shade is gone, till water is gone, into the Shadow with teeth bared, screaming defiance with the last breath, to spit in Sightblinder's eye on the Last Day"

#3 2008-02-22 17:40:50

jdhore