You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-19 17:34:37

ioky

Setting up a pure CLI system Linu (Linux without X) NEED HELP

Hello, Every one

I am new to Archlinux. but I am not a pure noob in Linux. I have use a few difference Distro before, and running ubuntu for everyday computing.

As time goes by, I get more and more into Linux, and I want to learn more about it. So I start myself with the Linu Project. I get a fair enough old Laptop. So I was thinking to install a pure CLI system on it. After Hours of research and reading. I realize it is possible to do every computing with just a CLI system. So here I am, I want to use Archlinux as the base system because all the greatness of it.

Here is a List of all the software I found on the web, which can make the project to be interesting. I am not a except of Linux, I am still looking for a way to start this. The bottom line is I would like to have Archlinux installed, along with the software I listed. Of course if you get any suggestion on which software that I should add or drop. It will be great to listen.

Linu (Linux without X)

CLI Softwares

Accessoris:
        eSpeak - text to speech app
        Abook - a text-based addressbook program designed to use with mutt mail client
        Antiword - a reader for proprietary Microsoft Word documents.
        Live-F1 - a Linux client for viewing the information feed of the offical F1 site
        bc - (calculator)
        gnuplot - a command-line Program generate 2D/3D dimensinal plots of functions and data
        FBGrab - a framebuffer screenshot program
        Fbshot - a small program that allows you to take screenshots
        pdf2ascii - PDF to ascii software
        GNU Oleo - a lightweight free spreadsheet software package.
        SC - spreadsheet calculatior
        vim-latexsuite - Latex plugin to VIM
        cmatrix - CLI Matrix screensaver

Games:
        BSD-Games - a collection of the classic text based games