You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-10 11:16:17

kaola_linux
Member
From: Bacolod City/Philippines
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 513

Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

Hi, I had some strange issues with regards building via abs...I've posted a topic about my yaourt not working at the other thread and it was solved...Now; after downloading a tarball, extract it and do a

makepkg -s

there are no binary packages produced!!!:o

Example: After downloading the tarball of "kicad" from the AUR and building it, the directory of kicad only has tar.bz2 files...The same with other packages, this happens as well...:(


Please help me, I need this packages for my projects...:(

Thanks in advance

Last edited by kaola_linux (2009-01-11 06:54:02)


Netbook (Acer Aspire One 110 || 160gb SATA HD || 1.5gb ram): archlinux i686 / KDEmod 4.3
Registered Linux User # 481212 / Machine Registration # 390468
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates?"

Offline

#2 2009-01-10 11:43:26

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,384
Website

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

Do you get any error messages?

Offline

#3 2009-01-10 12:27:36

Stefan Husmann
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-07
Posts: 1,391

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

You use the AUR web-interface? You have to download and unpack the tarball you can find on the very left beneath "files" and "PKGBUILD". Do do not need do download the upstream .tar.bz2 file (or whatever there is), makepkg does that for you.

Last edited by Stefan Husmann (2009-01-10 12:28:02)

Offline

#4 2009-01-10 13:14:19

kaola_linux
Member
From: Bacolod City/Philippines
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 513

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

Allan wrote:

Do you get any error messages?

I don't get any errors, it's just there are no binary packages created...:(

@Stefan Husmann: I do download the tarball and unpack it then do the "makepkg -s"


Netbook (Acer Aspire One 110 || 160gb SATA HD || 1.5gb ram): archlinux i686 / KDEmod 4.3
Registered Linux User # 481212 / Machine Registration # 390468
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates?"

Offline

#5 2009-01-10 13:16:50

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,384
Website

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

You don't have PKGDEST set in /etc/makepkg.conf?

Can you post a build log from a package?

Offline

#6 2009-01-10 13:29:00

kaola_linux
Member
From: Bacolod City/Philippines
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 513

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

Here is my makepkg.conf:

#
# /etc/makepkg.conf
#

#########################################################################
# SOURCE ACQUISITION
#########################################################################
#
#-- The download utilities that makepkg should use to acquire sources
#  Format: 'protocol::agent'
DLAGENTS=('ftp::/usr/bin/wget -c --passive-ftp -t 3 --waitretry=3 -O %o %u'
          'http::/usr/bin/wget -c -t 3 --waitretry=3 -O %o %u'
          'https::/usr/bin/wget -c -t 3 --waitretry=3 --no-check-certificate -O %o %u'
          'rsync::/usr/bin/rsync -z %u %o'
          'scp::/usr/bin/scp -C %u %o')

# Other common tools:
# /usr/bin/snarf
# /usr/bin/lftpget -c
# /usr/bin/curl

#########################################################################
# ARCHITECTURE, COMPILE FLAGS
#########################################################################
#
CARCH="i686"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"

#-- Exclusive: will only run on -march=i686 
# -march (or -mcpu) builds exclusively for an architecture
# -mtune optimizes for an architecture, but builds for whole processor family
CFLAGS="-march=i686 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-march=i686 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe"
#-- Make Flags: change this for DistCC/SMP systems
#MAKEFLAGS="-j2"

#########################################################################
# BUILD ENVIRONMENT
#########################################################################
#
# Defaults: BUILDENV=(fakeroot !distcc color !ccache !xdelta)
#  A negated environment option will do the opposite of the comments below.
#
#-- fakeroot: Allow building packages as a non-root user
#-- distcc:   Use the Distributed C/C++/ObjC compiler
#-- color:    Colorize output messages
#-- ccache:   Use ccache to cache compilation
#-- xdelta:   Generate delta patch from previous to current package
#
BUILDENV=(fakeroot !distcc color !ccache !xdelta)
#
#-- If using DistCC, your MAKEFLAGS will also need modification. In addition,
#-- specify a space-delimited list of hosts running in the DistCC cluster.
#DISTCC_HOSTS=""

#########################################################################
# GLOBAL PACKAGE OPTIONS
#   These are default values for the options=() settings
#########################################################################
#
# Default: OPTIONS=(strip docs libtool emptydirs zipman)
#  A negated option will do the opposite of the comments below.
#
#-- strip:     Strip symbols from binaries/libraries
#-- docs:      Save doc and info directories
#-- libtool:   Leave libtool (.la) files in packages
#-- emptydirs: Leave empty directories in packages
#-- zipman:    Compress manpages with gzip
#
OPTIONS=(strip docs libtool emptydirs zipman)

#-- File integrity checks to use. Valid: md5, sha1, sha256, sha384, sha512
INTEGRITY_CHECK=(md5)
#-- Info and doc directories to remove (if option set correctly above)
DOC_DIRS=(usr/{,share/}{info,doc,gtk-doc} opt/*/{info,doc,gtk-doc})
#-- Directories to be searched for the strip option (if option set correctly above)
STRIP_DIRS=(bin lib sbin usr/{bin,lib,sbin,local/{bin,lib,sbin}} opt/*/{bin,lib,sbin})

#########################################################################
# PACKAGE OUTPUT
#########################################################################
#
# Default: put built package and cached source in build directory
#
#-- Destination: specify a fixed directory where all packages will be placed
#PKGDEST=/home/packages
#-- Source cache: specify a fixed directory where source files will be cached
#SRCDEST=/home/sources
#-- Packager: name/email of the person or organization building packages
#PACKAGER="John Doe <john@doe.com>"

#########################################################################
# BUILDSCRIPT/EXTENSION DEFAULTS
#########################################################################
#
# WARNING: Do NOT modify these variables unless you know what you are
#          doing.
#
BUILDSCRIPT='PKGBUILD'
PKGEXT='.pkg.tar.gz'
SRCEXT='.src.tar.gz'
DB_COMPRESSION='gz'
DB_CHECKSUMS=(md5)

# vim: set ft=sh ts=2 sw=2 et:

It seems that I don't have the PKGDEST set...I'll try it now I'll give some updates afterwards..thanks:)

edit: Here is what I get when trying to install geda-libs:

[koala@myhost geda-libs]$ makepkg -s -r
==> Making package: geda-libs 1.4.3-1 i686 (Sat Jan 10 10:44:24 PHT 2009)
==> Checking Runtime Dependencies...
==> Checking Buildtime Dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
  -> Downloading libgeda-1.4.3.tar.gz...
--2009-01-10 10:44:25--  http://geda.seul.org/release/v1.4/1.4.3/libgeda-1.4.3.tar.gz
Resolving geda.seul.org... 128.31.0.34
Connecting to geda.seul.org|128.31.0.34|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 985338 (962K) [application/x-tar]
Saving to: `libgeda-1.4.3.tar.gz.part'

100%[======================================>] 985,338     3.66K/s   in 1m 44s  

2009-01-10 10:46:15 (9.21 KB/s) - `libgeda-1.4.3.tar.gz.part' saved [985338/985338]

  -> Downloading geda-symbols-1.4.3.tar.gz...
--2009-01-10 10:46:15--  http://geda.seul.org/release/v1.4/1.4.3/geda-symbols-1.4.3.tar.gz
Resolving geda.seul.org... 128.31.0.34
Connecting to geda.seul.org|128.31.0.34|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 843490 (824K) [application/x-tar]
Saving to: `geda-symbols-1.4.3.tar.gz.part'

100%[======================================>] 843,490     9.76K/s   in 5m 4s   

2009-01-10 10:51:22 (2.71 KB/s) - `geda-symbols-1.4.3.tar.gz.part' saved [843490/843490]

==> Validating source files with md5sums...
    libgeda-1.4.3.tar.gz ... Passed
    geda-symbols-1.4.3.tar.gz ... Passed
==> Extracting Sources...
  -> bsdtar -x -f libgeda-1.4.3.tar.gz
  -> bsdtar -x -f geda-symbols-1.4.3.tar.gz
==> Entering fakeroot environment...
==> Finished making: geda-libs 1.4.3-1 i686 (Sat Jan 10 10:56:14 PHT 2009)

Is this correct? I can't seem to find any binary package on my directory...:/

Last edited by kaola_linux (2009-01-10 14:54:22)


Netbook (Acer Aspire One 110 || 160gb SATA HD || 1.5gb ram): archlinux i686 / KDEmod 4.3
Registered Linux User # 481212 / Machine Registration # 390468
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates?"

Offline

#7 2009-01-10 22:11:57

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

That's strange. After the :
==> Entering fakeroot environment...
line you should get a :
==> Starting build()...
where it starts building the package. That whole step seem to be skipped.

Are you using a modified or custom makepkg script?

Offline

#8 2009-01-11 00:10:48

kaola_linux
Member
From: Bacolod City/Philippines
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 513

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

Not at all...:(


Netbook (Acer Aspire One 110 || 160gb SATA HD || 1.5gb ram): archlinux i686 / KDEmod 4.3
Registered Linux User # 481212 / Machine Registration # 390468
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates?"

Offline

#9 2009-01-11 05:35:33

Stefan Husmann
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-07
Posts: 1,391

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

What language environment is set? What happens if you do an

export LANG=C

Offline

#10 2009-01-11 06:53:02

kaola_linux
Member
From: Bacolod City/Philippines
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 513

Re: Building AUR packages via abs doesn't produce binary...[SOLVED]

I solved my issue with the help from Ranguvar from my other post

He mentioned to reinstall all my packages and I did this as what he said:

pacman -Sf $(pacman -Qq | grep -v "$(pacman -Qmq)")

Just added "f" to ignore conflicts made...:D


Once again thanks to all!!!:D


Netbook (Acer Aspire One 110 || 160gb SATA HD || 1.5gb ram): archlinux i686 / KDEmod 4.3
Registered Linux User # 481212 / Machine Registration # 390468
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates?"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB