You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-18 19:08:39

scjudd

DHCP troubles on MacMini 4,1

I have been using Arch Linux for a couple years now on my home server. Recently, I bought a MacMini 4,1 and wanted to throw Arch on it. In order to get it working, I had to compile kernel26-vanilla from the AUR (currently at version 2.6.35.2-1). This is due to the new Nvidia chipset issue.. Long story short, I have managed to get Arch up and running.. but now I'm stuck on getting dhcp working.

The MacMini 4,1 uses the tg3 module for wired network.

When I boot up, the /etc/rc.d/network script fails.. however, adding the following to /etc/rc.local makes it work (occasionally):

dhcpcd -k eth0
dhcpcd -nd eth0

Essentially, I'd like to figure out why the initscript is failing and work out a possible solution..
My first thought was that tg3 needed to be compiled in the kernel instead of as a module. Nope.
Next I tried to tweak /etc/rc.d/network to run the same dhcpcd commands that worked in /etc/rc.local.. Surely that would work.. Nope.
I've tried all sorts of tweaks to DHCPCD_ARGS in /etc/conf.d/dhcpcd also.

Nothing seems to be working except the rc.local script.. How is it that the same set of commands will work in the rc.local but not in /etc/rc.d/network? I know that tweaking the rc.d scripts isn't really a good solution.. I'm really just trying to get to the bottom of this.. I'm hoping it will come down to adding some magical arguments in /etc/conf.d/dhcpcd, but I'm not sure what else to try.

Meh..

Last edited by scjudd (2010-08-18 19:45:46)

#2 2010-08-18 21:25:44

hexanol

Re: DHCP troubles on MacMini 4,1

Do you have any networking problem when you set up a static IP ?

#3 2010-08-18 23:22:52

steve___

I use an older mac mini which uses the sky2 module.  I too have had problems in the past.  Because of this I use netcfg to handle the network connection.  This allows a person to use dhclient or dhcpcd.  Here is the config I use should you care: