You are not logged in.

#1 2010-09-26 17:36:46

magyckleo

[SOLVED] Copy packages from current Arch install to new Arch install

Hello!

I'm new to Arch, so that's why I'm posting in the newbie corner. I've been looking everywhere for an answer to this: I want to do a fresh install of my system, but my internet connection is sort of messed up right now (unusually slow). I noticed that every package I have installed on my current Arch are saved in /var/cache/pacman/pkg. Could I make a backup of that directory onto another partition on my hard drive, reinstall Arch, and restore the backup to that same directory in the new install? Would pacman "think" it's already downloaded and skip the download step alltogether?

Thanks.

Last edited by magyckleo (2011-01-31 21:28:44)

#2 2010-09-26 17:40:59

karol
Archivist

Re: [SOLVED] Copy packages from current Arch install to new Arch install

#3 2010-09-26 18:04:07

magyckleo

Cool! So can I simply copy the contents of the cache onto a directory I create in the new install (eg. in the new home directory) and then add said directory as a repository in pacman.conf?

Last edited by magyckleo (2010-09-26 18:05:00)

#4 2010-09-26 18:05:56

karol
Archivist

magyckleo wrote:

Cool! So can I simply copy the contents of the cache onto a directory I create in the new install (eg. in the new home directory) and then add said directory as a repository in pacman.conf?

Don't forget the repo-add part (it's in the 'Custom local repository' section of the wiki article, just below 'Installing packages from a CD/DVD/iso').

Last edited by karol (2010-09-26 18:08:10)

#5 2010-09-26 18:24:30

magyckleo

Let me see if I understand the steps I need to take:

1) Backup the /var/cache/pacman/pkg onto another of my partitions or a DVD (It's 1.4 gigs).

2) Reinstall Arch.

3) Copy the backup onto a new directory. eg /home/user-name/packages

This is where I'm confused. Should I...?