You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-13 12:10:30

tolga9009
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 60

AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

Hello everyone!

Yesterday I wanted to give Arch Linux another try, but GRUB failed to boot my HDD -> GRUB error 21. That's when I installed Arch Linux in AHCI mode. When I installed it in IDE mode, everything worked fine. So, I tried to enable AHCI afterwards: GRUB gave me error 21 again. I followed this guide http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AHCI to enable AHCI after the installation. I tried installing GRUB on first HDD, on second, even tried to install on GPT (created via gparted / Ubuntu Live), but GRUB just kept giving me errors (error 17 this time). I used Auto-prepare, when I installed Arch on an MBR drive, but I had to use "Set mountpoints", when I installed Arch on a GUID partition. I chose "label" method to recognize the drives at startup. I was using a USB drive to install Arch Linux (2010.05), but I also tried a CD (with lots of I/O errors).

My Setup:
Intel Core i7-860 @ stock
Gigabyte GA-P55-UD5 with AHCI ROM 1.20E / F10 BIOS (latest stable bios)
640GB Western Digital Caviar Black (sda / MBR / Windows XP on ~140GB Partition / ~465GB unlocated)
640GB Western Digital Caviar Black (sdb / MBR / 100MB boot / 8192MB swap / 16384MB root / ~520GB home)
LG GH24NS50 Super-Multi Drive
4GB Corsair DDR3
Radeon HD5870

The whole setup works fine in Windows 7 / XP with AHCI enabled.

Can someone tell me, what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you for your time,
tolga9009

Edit: Hey, I just tried it again. I used gparted to create a GUID partition table on my second HDD, enabled AHCI mode in BIOS and run the setup with USB again. This time, I chose UUID. However, the bootloader didn't install at all (error 17; unable to mount). I also tried to install the bootloader on the first HDD, but GRUB gave me error 17 again. This is so frustrating.

Last edited by tolga9009 (2010-10-13 13:11:12)

Offline

#2 2010-10-13 21:46:10

tolga9009
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 60

Re: AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

I'll try to install Ubuntu 10.10 in a second. But it's just for testing. As you can see, I really rely on the latest software and driver versions, so my hardware can run without any problems. And Arch Linux is the only good distribution with a rolling release system and a great community. I'll let you know what happens.

Offline

#3 2010-10-13 22:10:15

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

I'm not sure if it's related, but check this out: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/21086

Offline

#4 2010-10-14 01:20:00

tolga9009
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 60

Re: AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

I'm not sure if it's related, but check this out: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/21086

Yeah, that could be. I've installed Ubuntu and it's booting and running like never before. No problems at all. I guess, that I've to stick to Windows XP until someone fixes that annoying bug sad.

Last edited by tolga9009 (2010-10-14 01:20:58)

Offline

#5 2010-10-14 02:23:01

o1911
Member
From: Hobart, Australia
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 106

Re: AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

Did you use mkinitcpio with the achi module?  See the wiki for ahci.


Arch x86_64

Offline

#6 2010-10-14 14:17:02

tolga9009
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 60

Re: AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

Did you use mkinitcpio with the achi module? See the wiki for ahci.

I followed this guide http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AHCI to enable AHCI after the installation.

I also edited the mkinitcpio.conf during the installation, when I ran an AHCI enabled installation. It probably could be a bug, I'll wait for the results of https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/21086.

Thanks.

Offline

#7 2010-11-21 22:02:12

tolga9009
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 60

Re: AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

I just tried to install it again and it failed. Is there any possibilities to mix the installation of Ubuntu and Arch Linux? I could install Ubuntu 10.10, then Arch Linux without installing the boot loader again.

Any other ideas?

Offline

#8 2010-11-22 15:15:11

tolga9009
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 60

Re: AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

I've changed the SATA working mode from "AHCI" to "RAID(XHD)", then I've installed Arch Linux again. GRUB shows the menu now, but when I try to boot the Arch Linux partition, it gives me GRUB Error 17: unable to mount, unknown filesystem. When I try to load the Windows partition, it gives me GRUB Error 13.
As before, Ubuntu 10.10 is running fine.

Another Question: is someone successfully running an Arch Linux Setup (with AHCI) on a Gigabyte Motherboard?

Offline

#9 2010-11-22 17:10:40

tolga9009
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 60

Re: AHCI and GRUB don't like each other

Finally! Arch Linux is finally working in AHCI mode. I just switched over to RAID-mode, where AHCI is also enabled. I don't know why, but it works this way. Probably those BIOS devs haven't worked clean enough.
I also chose "/dev/sdx"-mode for GRUB instead of UUID and now I don't get those GRUB Errors (17 and 13) anymore.

//Edit: I tried AHCI mode again, now I used GRUB2 instead of GRUB and it worked! It seems to be an incompability of my system with GRUB.

Last edited by tolga9009 (2010-11-22 18:31:52)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB