You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-03 08:09:58

fancy_ninja

Rhythmbox and Open Office Writer

Hello everyone...I'm having some trouble with 2 things...the first is Rhythmbox. The lyrics in the context pane are not showing...I was recently introduced to Arch and I am loving it/trying to learn more about it. I've literally been on just over a week! So here goes--when I play a song the lyrics no longer show up in the pane. They DO show if I go into the song's properties or if I hit control L. Just wondering if I'm being a complete noob or if others are experiencing this as well. The second issue is with Open Office Writer...(and this is probably the embarrassingly obvious one for seasoned Archers). After updating a few hours ago, I can no longer open documents. It worked fine before the update...and I confess I do not know any commands to see precisely WHAT was updated (but I DID get the new rhythmbox the other night). I DID peruse the wiki on open office and tried prepending a # before the lines:
# file locking now enabled by default
SAL_ENABLE_FILE_LOCKING=1
export SAL_ENABLE_FILE_LOCKING
...but this was for naught. Still can't open documents. Does anyone have some insight? Thanks for your patience and for your responses!

"You speak like a green girl, unsifted in such perilous circumstance."
- William Shakespeare, Hamlet, I.iii

#2 2010-11-03 09:01:51

firecat53
Website

Re: Rhythmbox and Open Office Writer

Openoffice will be deprecated soon....install libreoffice. The 'db' update was what broke Oo, so either downgrade db or install libreoffice.

Scott

#3 2010-11-03 09:58:57

Jodell

firecat53 wrote:

Openoffice will be deprecated soon....install libreoffice.

That isn't necessarily true. Oracle has release OpenOffice.org 3.3.0 RC1. http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n … &px=ODY5MQ

Last edited by Jodell (2010-11-03 09:59:25)

#4 2010-11-03 15:18:59

fancy_ninja