You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-21 18:26:43

Loafers
Member
Registered: 2009-11-01
Posts: 92

trouble connecting to network with netcfg

Hello I'm having trouble connecting to my network with netcfg.  Whenever I try to, I get the following:

[loafers@jane ~]$ sudo netcfg mocassin
Password: 
:: mocassin up                                                           [BUSY] 
Line 6: Invalid passphrase length 0 (expected: 8..63) '"'.
Line 6: failed to parse psk '""'.
Line 7: WPA-PSK accepted for key management, but no PSK configured.
Line 7: failed to parse network block.
Failed to read or parse configuration '/tmp/wpa.ra0/wpa.conf'.
 > wpa_supplicant did not start, possible configuration error 
                                                                         [FAIL]

Here is my network profile:

CONNECTION='wireless'
DESCRIPTION='A wpa_supplicant configuration based wireless connection'
INTERFACE='ra0'
SECURITY='wpa'
WPA_CONF='/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
IP='dhcp'

Here is my wpa_supplicant profile:

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

network={
        ssid="mocassin"
        proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=CCMP TKIP
        group=CCMP TKIP
        #psk="***********"
        psk=**********************************************************************
}

I'm pretty sure I read the wiki instructions thorougly so I'm not exactly sure what I'm doing wrong...

Offline

#2 2010-12-21 19:03:54

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: trouble connecting to network with netcfg

Maybe try with only

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

network={
        ssid="mocassin"
        #psk="***********"
        psk=**********************************************************************
}

Offline

#3 2010-12-21 23:33:19

Loafers
Member
Registered: 2009-11-01
Posts: 92

Re: trouble connecting to network with netcfg

hokasch wrote:

Maybe try with only

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

network={
        ssid="mocassin"
        #psk="***********"
        psk=**********************************************************************
}

Still won't connect sad

Offline

#4 2010-12-22 00:48:37

whatshisname
Member
Registered: 2010-04-24
Posts: 163

Re: trouble connecting to network with netcfg

I recently had major problems with my wireless connection after a network manager upgrade:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=107609

The only way I figured out what was going wrong was by doing a full system reinstall.  Ouch!

I finally realized  these network managers were causing me more problems than they were worth once I understood that all they were doing were:

1) activating the wireless card,
2) scanning for a router,
3) connecting to it and then
4) asking for an ip address.

Well, heck, you can do that yourself.  If you're mainly connecting from one location, write a short script and call it from "/etc/rc.local".  If you find yourself someplace else, then it's simple enough to figure out what the names of the available routers are, choose one and connect to it.

What I would suggest is to set your wireless connection up manually first, following the instructions from the wiki.  That way you can begin to understand what is going on:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … nual_setup

Once you get the sequence down, then ball the commands up in a script and, like I said above, call it from "/etc/rc.local".

For ex., here's mine for home called "connecthome":

-- snip --
#!/bin/bash

echo "Bring up eth1"
ifconfig eth1 up
echo "Associate with MyEssid"
iwconfig eth1 essid MyEssid
echo "Get IP address"
dhclient eth1
-- snip --

I had problems with "dhcpcd" so I use "dhclient".  Use whichever works for you.

Also, since I live out in the country, I haven't bothered to secure my router.  Follow the instructions in the wiki if you have locked down yours.

"iwlist eth1 scan" will give you a list of routers in range.

Now that you know what it takes to connect to a network, it's easy enough to make a copy of "connecthome" for the office and call it "connectoffice", or whatever, and replace the home network essid with the one at the office.

Anyway, that's what worked for me.  Consequently, I commented/banged out all the network daemons in my DAEMON list in /etc/rc.conf which, ultimately, was the cause of my chagrin.

Good luck.

Offline

#5 2010-12-22 16:15:43

perbh
Member
From: Republic of Texas
Registered: 2005-03-04
Posts: 765

Re: trouble connecting to network with netcfg

@whatshisname
+1 for your post!
That's exactly how I do it as well - and I have also had my share of problems with dhcpd and use dhclient instead!

Offline

#6 2010-12-22 16:52:02

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,847

Re: trouble connecting to network with netcfg

Loafers wrote:

Hello I'm having trouble connecting to my network with netcfg.  Whenever I try to, I get the following:

CONNECTION='wireless'
DESCRIPTION='A wpa_supplicant configuration based wireless connection'
INTERFACE='ra0'
SECURITY='wpa'
WPA_CONF='/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
IP='dhcp'

Here is my wpa_supplicant profile:

I'm pretty sure I read the wiki instructions thorougly so I'm not exactly sure what I'm doing wrong...

Try using wpa-configsection instead, last I looked (and it was a while ago) that was the only wpa set-up netcfg supported.
At least in that case the whole set-up is in one file.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#7 2010-12-24 03:16:08

Loafers
Member
Registered: 2009-11-01
Posts: 92

Re: trouble connecting to network with netcfg

Thanks for all the replies.  However, none of them worked.

I tried using wpa-configsection, but got more or less the same errors.

I also tried connecting manually and when I execute dhcpcd ra0, it just keeps on timing out.

Here is my iwlist ra0 scan:

ra0       Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:22:B0:B6:C9:35
                    Protocol:802.11b/g/n
                    ESSID:"moccasin"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality:89/100  Signal level:-55 dBm  Noise level:-92 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: Unknown: DD0E0050F204104A0001101044000102

Here is my updated wpa_supplicant file:

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

network={
    ssid="mocassin"
    proto=WPA
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=TKIP CCMP
    group=TKIP
    #psk="***********"
    psk=*******************************************************
}

I also tried using dhclient ra0 but it would just show a cursor blinking for about 20 seconds, and then return to the bash prompt.  That didn't work either....

I'm ready to buy a new usb wifi dongle... anybody got suggestions (right now I'm using rt2870sta driver)?

So far this driver has been causing me nothing but grief.  It fatally crashes my computer when I use it with wicd too.

Last edited by Loafers (2010-12-24 03:20:27)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB