You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-24 04:11:35

phlaaj

Pre-Installation Wireless Set-up Questions

Hi all,

I am an Arch noob for sure, as I am sure some of the following questions will reveal. I have been using Crunchbang (a Ubuntu variant) for about a year now though, so not completely new to Linux. Anyways, I am thinking about installing Arch sometime within the next few days, and was reading through the Beginners' Guide, Wiki, and forums, and I am a bit unclear about a couple points in the installation process. As these questions concern wireless set-up, I thought I would ask them now rather than risk messing up my internet connectivity during install. I very much appreciate any help, and I am very much looking forward to switching to Arch smile

1. In the Networking section of /etc/rc.conf, the guide says to "list all interfaces" next to INTERFACES=. Question is, how do I find which "all interfaces" I have? If so, do I actually list them all? Also, if there are interfaces besides eth0, do I need to list them separately above INTERFACES= (like how eth0= is a separate line)? If so, should they all be set to "dhcp"? I will need to use wireless to connect to a WPA2-protected network through a router, if this info helps at all.

2. If I will be using DHCP (which I plan to as I have a laptop), do I need to change the IP address in /etc/hosts during installation? If so, do I change it to "dhcp"?

3. The guide says to uncomment the "locale(s) you need" in /etc/locale.gen. How do I determine which locales I need? Do I just choose one corresponding to where I am, or all the locales corresponding to where I am?

4. If my network isn't working on restart, what is the command to re-open and edit configuration files like /etc/rc.conf if I have to?

Thanks for the help!

#2 2010-12-24 05:53:52

meop

Re: Pre-Installation Wireless Set-up Questions

Hi,