You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-27 11:19:12

hennnrik

Old USB modem

Hello everybody smile
I've got some network questions, but as I'm a noob in Arch (I come from Ubuntu and never really cared about how the system worked till now), I guess I should post here.

I use an old USB modem, which I installed following this guide https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UsbAd … Connection.
In Ubuntu, I started the connection automatically using a script at startup.
There it says that to start the connection automatically with udev (which is what I could do in Arch), I should write a udev rule and a udev script.

I haven't do that yet, as I would like to know if it's possible for the network daemon to start the connection with the modem automatically, by previously setting the network interface or something like that in /etc/rc.conf, or other config files. I think there has to be a simpler way that doesn't involve writing rules, scripts, etc.

I've tried setting ppp0 as the only interface of the system in rc.conf, but the daemon says that it can't find it.

If you could point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it a lot smile

Last edited by hennnrik (2010-12-27 11:19:26)

#2 2010-12-27 11:44:01

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: Old USB modem

Check netcfg's documentation, and a google/forum search should give you some information as well. You can set up a profile that can be called from rc.conf (so there is tight integration).

Welcome to the forums smile.

Edit: while netcfg has a ppp sample configuration among its examples, it does not seem to require a username and password, which seems a bit odd. You might want to check with the developer (iphitus).

Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

#3 2010-12-27 19:04:58

hennnrik

Thank you very much .:B:. smile That's exactly what I wanted.

You were wondering how come it doesn't require a username and password.