You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-09 21:48:49

hiushoz

A security question pertaining to disabling the root login. [SOLVED]

I've recently been configuring sudo and came across the following piece of advice:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Su … root_login
After making my normal user a full fledged sudoer I followed the advice in the link above.

passwd -l root

worked beautifully without problems in spite of the warnings.

However on a hunch after going

ls -l /etc/passwd

I was dismayed to see that the permission of the file was 644 with owner root. Shouldn't the permission be 640? Otherwise why would a cracker try to guess who is a sudoer when you can look at /etc/passwd and see myname in the entries and go like "OK root's disabled this is the only other human user lemme see if I can crack this..."

Like I would have changed the permission on etc/passwd to 640 but since I'm far from an expert I want to know if this is safe to do/are there any unintended consequences for doing so. Furthermore even if I can do that the cracker will then proceed to search for all users who are members of the wheel group. I don't know what command would do this but clearly there must be a way the OS keeps track of which group has which members. Even if it's possible to safely change the permission of etc/group to 640 or 600 I don't think it's a good idea cause the cracker will still attempt to find all members of the wheel group because wheel is universal to Linux.

My next worry is /etc/shadow. The good news is the permission there is 600. However there may be other files which can give away my username to the cracker besides /etc/passwd and /etc/group. If so what are they. Can they be safetyed?