You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-20 23:11:37

omega02

[SOLVED] KTorrent KDEInit could not launch '/usr/bin/ktorrent'.

Hi, I'm a noob at linux in general, so please take it easy for me.

Okay, so I am getting this weird KTorrent KDEInit could not launch '/usr/bin/ktorrent' error whenever i try to run ktorrent. It only happened whenever I recently updated it to 4.1.0.1.
Whenever I run it in terminal however, I get this error saying this:

ktorrent: error while loading shared libraries: libkcmutils.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.

Thanks for the help!

EDIT: I also google'd around trying to fix this problem myself but no one seemed to have this kind of error.

Solution: Update the computer with "pacman -Syu" (without quotes) and it should work. Thanks.

Last edited by omega02 (2011-03-21 18:54:11)

#2 2011-03-20 23:20:19

Dogmeat

Re: [SOLVED] KTorrent KDEInit could not launch '/usr/bin/ktorrent'.

/usr/lib/libkcmutils.so.4 is owned by kdelibs 4.6.1-2

Do pacman -Syu and make sure you are using an up to date mirror.

#3 2011-03-20 23:51:09

omega02

Hi, I am a really, really, big noob at linux. Okay so I don't use pacman, I use yaourt (I assume they're the same thing, just that yaourt adds colour to the text) and secondly I don't know how to update a mirror.

Anyways, I did "yaourt -Syu" and woah, I guess I really do need to update my linux computer, but one thing.. It seems like I need to replace stuff.. and I don't even know if I should replace it or not! So like

Replace kdeaccessibility-kttsd with extra/kdeaccessibility-jovie? y/n

I'm not feeling very comfortable about upgrading my system as it seems like I can break it. So is there any way I can just manually update kdelibs to 4.6.1-2? I did yaourt -Sy kdelibs but it came out with this when things finished downloading:

error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
libsub: /usr/include/libusb-1.0/libusb.h exists in filesystem