You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-29 05:37:04

Dahaka14

[SOLVED] Running Commands from Command Line

Hi, I am brand new to Arch Linux. I am somewhat familiar with using the terminal and running commands from the terminal, but I can't seem to figure out why I am having trouble running executables from the terminal in my new Arch Linux system. For instance, I am trying to use the executable "xflux" like I have in other Linux systems. I enter the directory that it is in, and run xflux and get:

[user@myhost ~]$ xflux
bash: /usr/bin/xflux: No such file or directory

But I clearly put the executable in the /usr/bin directory:

[user@myhost ~]$ which xflux
/usr/bin/xflux

This has been happening with other executables as well, even when I try to run it with the executable in the same directory that I am in.
I honestly spent a lot of time trying to find an answer to the question. To me it would seem that I just don't have enough knowledge of using bash and terminal to know what I am doing wrong. Could someone please help me, or point to where I can learn how to fix this?

Last edited by Dahaka14 (2011-03-29 14:34:42)

#2 2011-03-29 06:39:25

Awebb

Re: [SOLVED] Running Commands from Command Line

#3 2011-03-29 09:18:13

starfry

Is xflux executable?

(do "ls -l `which xflux`" and check that it has enough executable permissions for your user.) Have you tried entering the absolute path (i.e. "/usr/bin/xflux") ?

What is it?

(do "file `which xflux`").

If it is a script then another problem may be that the script is looking for its interpreter in the wrong place. Check the top line. It'll be something like "#!/bin/sh". Whatever is on that line is the program that executes the script. Check that exists too (e.g. to check my example I might do ls -l /bin/sh").

Hope this helps you.

#4 2011-03-29 11:09:20

bernarcher
Forum Fellow

How did you install xflux?