You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-03 19:31:08

dtmc

[SOLVED] How do I know what tty I'm using?

This is my first attempt to install Arch (and, frankly, I'm amazed it worked first time, given my abilities :-) ) and I have a query.

I have got to the part where I add myself as a user and, in the beginner's guide, it advises switching from md5 hashes to sha512.  Fair enough.  But then, on the SHA hashes wiki page, there's a throwaway line which says that sha512 hashes won't work with fgetty and I should switch to mingetty or agetty.

So, how do I tell which tty I'm using and how do I switch to one of the others if I am using fgetty?  Pacman doesn't seem to recognise any of them and I can't find any mention of this on the forums (am I *really* the first person to wonder?  Or are you all just so much more advanced than me and know the answer already? :-) ).

Many thanks,

David Shaw

Last edited by dtmc (2011-05-03 21:53:52)

#2 2011-05-03 19:38:11

jasonwryan
Anarchist
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How do I know what tty I'm using?

Hi David,

Welcome to the boards. You can look in your inittab to see what gettys you are using (/etc/inittab). There is a description here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _and_Login

Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

#3 2011-05-03 19:45:18

dtmc

Many thanks - turns out I'm using agetty (but you probably knew that already :-) ).

I'll probably irritate you all by asking a load of newbie questions and I apologise in advance.  I'm no newcomer to Linux (made the switch just over five years ago) but this is my first attempt with a distro that doesn't spoon feed me.  The training wheels are now off ;-)

David Shaw

#4 2011-05-03 20:29:32

jasonwryan
Anarchist
Website

I think you'll find a lot to enjoy using Arch.