You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-19 23:37:58

xdunlapx

HP Laserjet Pro P1102W not printing even though it's installed...

Hello everyone. I'm relatively new to Arch, especially new with configuring cups. I just bought an HP LaserJet Pro p1102w wireless printer. I set it up on my dads laptop via plugging it into the usb and it automatically ran the setup program and I selected to set the printer up for wifi printing. All went well and the printer works now wirelessly from his computer (Windows 7). I've been working at getting this printer to actually print without error but it refuses.

I'm trying to print from leafpad, just a simple text file with little in it other than "linux test print" in the file. The print queue states "Processing - Not connected?" then it fails and gives me the option to "diagnose" the issue. So I click Diagnose. Then it pops up with a message stating that the "print server not exporting printers". It tells me to enable  the "Publish shared printers connected to this system" through the printing administration panel which is in Gnome apparenetly (I'm in XFCE) under System>Administration>Printing from the main menu. In XFCE there is no such area.

I have cups version 1.5.0-1
hplip 3.11.7-2

What else should I do? Apparently the printer was installed successfully. I tried installing it and selecting the HPlip driver which installed fine but wouldn't print. Then I removed that one and installed it using the Apple driver (airprint?) and it won't print either.

I've tried searching for help but all I find is that it will work with hiplip installed... It isn't working with that installed.

I can't access the cups server via a browser. Is that the problem? I've opened the cups config page but I don't understand it and it says allow,deny under localhost or ugh i dont know, something about which users can access the server. Should I remove the "deny"??