You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-07 22:07:44

mistertransistor

[SOLVED] usb serial port emulation

Hello
I'm an Arch newbie. I just purchased an HP Neoware CA21 thin client, replaced the small DOM unit by a 1GB module, and installed Arch on it. I would like to use this device as a kind of data logger, 24x7 continuous operation.
  The device I'm reading is an ADC connected via a USB port, which provides a CDC/ACM interface. When I plug it into the CA21 USB port, /dev/ttyACM0 does appear. Under Ubuntu on a normal PC the same happens but I find I can only use it via the usbserial driver, which provides serial port emulation for a USB device, creating /dev/ttyUSB0. That's because I can't get the java serial port interface rxtx to recognise a ttyACMn device, for reasons I don't understand and am still investigating.

So, I have a couple of newbie questions about Arch ...

1/ is there an equivalent to usbserial, ie a serial port emulation for USB ports?
2/ if not, or perhaps more correctly, how can my java app interface to ttyACM0? The Arduino crowd may know about this.
3/ I'm kind of assuming rxtx works under Arch - is that right?

Thanks for any help.
Andrew

Last edited by mistertransistor (2011-11-12 16:43:03)

#2 2011-11-08 04:51:33

ewaller
Administrator

Re: [SOLVED] usb serial port emulation

I would bet that /dev/ttyACM0 is a serial device.  Is the problem with the Java software insists that it be of the form /dev/USBn ??

If so, you could try creating a soft link to see if it solves the issue

sudo ln -s /dev/ttyACM0 /dev/ttyUSB0

Then try connecting though Java to /dev/tty/USB0.  If it does not work, it could be because of permissions.  You can, as an experiment, change those too.

See if this works -- If it is, it should only be considered to be a transient solution.   If this all works, the better solution will be to modify your udev rules.

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday