You are not logged in.

#1 2011-12-09 22:03:01

brAzzi64
Website

XFCE + Compiz

Hey!

I'm just getting started with Arch, trying to learn all I can while I try different desktops and configurations.
I've just managed to making work XFCE, and LightDM as a display manager. My objective now is trying to make compiz work with XFCE, following the guide in here.

The problem is that, with my current setup, windows start borderless after login and compiz doesn't seem to be running (at least, it doesn't respond to any of the normal keyboard shortcuts).

I've installed the set of packages in the group compiz-fusion-gtk + compiz-core through pacman. After that, I followed the instructions in this section of the guide.

The app glxgears seems to run ok, giving a good framerate, so 3D might be working OK.
My VGA is an Intel card (I'm on an HP notebook). The output to lspci | grep VGA:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)

Any ideas on what else to check?

Thanks a lot smile

#2 2011-12-09 22:42:12

bwat47

Re: XFCE + Compiz

In compizconfig did you make sure to enable the necessary plugins? By default every plugin is disabled including window decoration, moving, and resizing windows. Make sure to install compizconfig, enable window decoration and set it to use gtk-window-decorator --replace (make sure you have compiz-decorator-gtk installed for this) or emerald --replace (make sure you have emerald installed for this)

Last edited by bwat47 (2011-12-09 22:43:24)

#3 2011-12-09 22:51:56

Shark

It should work. Follow closely compiz guide. I had some problem at first too.

Last edited by Shark (2011-12-09 22:52:38)

If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.
Henry David Thoreau

Registered Linux User: #559057

#4 2011-12-09 23:03:32

brAzzi64
Website