You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-23 16:01:31

jose1711
Member
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 128

/media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

hello,

anyone else noticed that /media moved to /run/media after an external disk is mounted in gnome 3.4? any idea how to get the old behaviour?

thank you,

jose

Offline

#2 2012-04-23 16:42:55

65kid
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 663

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 25994.html

Seems like this is the default since udisks2 and the plan is to get rid of /media eventually. If it really bothers you that much, I guess you will have to create a symlink.

Offline

#3 2012-04-23 16:45:29

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

Over here it even uses /run/media/$username...

God.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#4 2012-04-24 01:30:35

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,048

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

Here too.... oh well, just a quick adjustment to my backup scripts....


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#5 2012-04-24 16:24:22

mutoso
Member
Registered: 2012-04-24
Posts: 4

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

After running pacman -Syu this morning, my partitions (when mounting them via nautilus) are now mounting to /run/media/(username here). I've been told that this is because of udisks2 in GNOME 3.4. Is there a way to revert this behavior and have disks mount to /media again? Google isn't helping me at all.

Thanks. smile

EDIT: Never mind. Just saw this thread. Sorry for cluttering up this board with an extra thread.

Last edited by mutoso (2012-04-24 16:26:46)

Offline

#6 2012-04-24 16:29:07

stonix_015
Member
Registered: 2012-02-13
Posts: 18

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

is there a way to change it in apps/nautilus/preferences -> media-automount?

But perhaps there are configs.
Try to type in "ls -a ~" to show hidden folders on your user space

Why do you want to automount in /media ?
Are there any problems with mounting in /run/media/username

Offline

#7 2012-04-24 18:17:15

mutoso
Member
Registered: 2012-04-24
Posts: 4

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

stonix_015 wrote:

Why do you want to automount in /media ?
Are there any problems with mounting in /run/media/username

Just that it breaks paths pointing to a lot of files on my external drive.

Offline

#8 2012-04-24 19:42:38

arriagga
Member
From: Dominican Republic
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 27

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

now there is no safe eject or eject option on usb, is there any way I can have it again.

thanks

Offline

#9 2012-04-26 12:46:48

onestep_ua
Member
From: Luhansk, Ukraine
Registered: 2008-04-30
Posts: 13

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

For those who are interested, I've made a quick fix for the issue - http://paste.lisp.org/display/129168, apply to udisks2.

Offline

#10 2012-04-29 07:50:59

liticovjesac
Member
From: Stockholm-Belgrade-Köln
Registered: 2008-07-16
Posts: 91

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

For some time I don't follow what is going on in linux development. I just use my desktop. Today after update I realise that my samba shared external usb hdd (symlinked in home dir) is not reachable. When I checked mounting points I was suprised discovering /run directorium where external hdd was mounted. There are some other files inside run dir:
clamav   
ConsoleKit 
cron.reboot 
dbus     
initramfs 
media 
pm-utils 
sshd.pid       
syslog-ng.pid 
udisks   
utmp
console 
crond.pid   
daemons     
dbus.pid 
lock       
mount 
samba     
syslog-ng.ctl 
udev
udisks2
wicd
What is going on here?  Is /media obsolete now since I still have it in /? Some tips for further reading would be nice. Thanx.

Offline

#11 2012-04-29 08:12:32

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 1,017

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

/run/media/(stick-or-usb or-partition-name)
is true, in xfce+thunar+gvfs+udisks+udisks2 happen too

I not sure why but this is not FSF-standard


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#12 2012-04-29 10:20:49

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,936

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

I went there: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 7#p1092087
Then there: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=140134
Which lead me there: http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 25994.html

My google search term was: mount media in "/run/media"

It seems to be an udisks2 "feature", as a first step in getting rid of /media.

Offline

#13 2012-04-29 12:39:15

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

Awebb wrote:

It seems to be an udisks2 "feature", as a first step in getting rid of /media.


but why are they getting rid of /media, what is the purpose.


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

#14 2012-04-29 18:05:37

debdj
Member
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 163

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

If thats becoming the default its pretty absurd.
If in my case, I'll simply have the drives mounted in /media through /etc/fstab.

Offline

#15 2012-04-29 21:22:47

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 1,017

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

thunar no recognice the new path and not show in grapical mode the disk that are mounted in boot
in the older show them, but now only sdhow, unmonted and external disks

not chance to simlink /run/media to/from /media or /mnt???


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#16 2012-04-29 21:24:53

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 1,017

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

maybe a simlink can solve inconsistent/not compatible/no workin filemanagers/scripts/others


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#17 2012-04-29 21:31:20

Bellum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-24
Posts: 230

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

Wha? Why they doing that?

Offline

#18 2012-04-29 22:34:41

graysky
Member
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,279
Website

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs • 1.21 JIGOWATTS!

Offline

#19 2012-04-30 00:05:46

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 15,239

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

Done


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#20 2012-04-30 00:13:15

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 1,017

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

ok, symlink /media and /run/media not work how I spkt

246827 4,0K lrwxrwxrwx   1 root    root    10 abr 29 20:06 media -> /run/media/

why: the /run is /run/media/$USERNAME/$DEVICE but all media is /media/$DEVICE
in other words the problem is the $USERNAME...


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#21 2012-04-30 00:38:58

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,048

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

Jristz wrote:

ok, symlink /media and /run/media not work how I spkt

246827 4,0K lrwxrwxrwx   1 root    root    10 abr 29 20:06 media -> /run/media/

why: the /run is /run/media/$USERNAME/$DEVICE but all media is /media/$DEVICE
in other words the problem is the $USERNAME...

Why would you want the old behaviour back in the first place? Should make no difference if you're using nautilus. This is just the new standard, not a 'problem'.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#22 2012-04-30 00:41:59

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 1,017

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

ngoonee wrote:
Jristz wrote:

ok, symlink /media and /run/media not work how I spkt

246827 4,0K lrwxrwxrwx   1 root    root    10 abr 29 20:06 media -> /run/media/

why: the /run is /run/media/$USERNAME/$DEVICE but all media is /media/$DEVICE
in other words the problem is the $USERNAME...

Why would you want the old behaviour back in the first place? Should make no difference if you're using nautilus. This is just the new standard, not a 'problem'.

since: backward-compatibility, i'm borred, and I like test thiks that noone want test XD

but for the other sice this show that for  now almos in nautilus and thunar 1.2.0 is "safe" remove /media (almost at my tests)


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#23 2012-04-30 05:25:17

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,936

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

ngoonee wrote:

Why would you want the old behaviour back in the first place? Should make no difference if you're using nautilus. This is just the new standard, not a 'problem'.

While I understand the additional step via the username, I don't understand, why it should be in /run. I don't even find /run in the FHS. Not that I really mind, I… googled for a second and read "/run" close to "systemd" all the time. Now I know why, they want systemd as the new quasi-standard, so it's a natural development. *shrug*

Offline

#24 2012-04-30 09:19:00

65kid
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 663

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

Awebb wrote:
ngoonee wrote:

Why would you want the old behaviour back in the first place? Should make no difference if you're using nautilus. This is just the new standard, not a 'problem'.

While I understand the additional step via the username, I don't understand, why it should be in /run. I don't even find /run in the FHS. Not that I really mind, I… googled for a second and read "/run" close to "systemd" all the time. Now I know why, they want systemd as the new quasi-standard, so it's a natural development. *shrug*

Another reason may be because /run is tmpfs, so you can mount stuff to /run/media even if you have a read-only root. That's also wh systemd currently mounts /media as tmpfs (which will be dropped with the next release because of the /run change).

Offline

#25 2012-05-01 17:53:41

Ulf
Member
Registered: 2007-08-26
Posts: 43

Re: /media moved to /run/media after upgrade to gnome 3.4?

I am really fond of my media directory...why does it need to be in a tmpfs system? It worked nice until this weekend. Seems it doesn't work as planned (yet) reading all the threads of people having mounting issues. I came across this nice post:

http://igurublog.wordpress.com/2012/03/ … for-linux/

Time to start working on a gnomeless system.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB