You are not logged in.

#1 2012-06-14 16:13:28

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

[SOLVED] Do I really have to mount "devpts" when chrooting?

This seems to be the absolute minimum required for chrooting:

cd /mnt/arch
mount -t proc proc proc/
mount -t sysfs sys sys/
mount -o bind /dev dev/
chroot .

I tried googling about "devpts" but all I saw was that "It is now the most common way for pseudo terminals (PTYs) to be implemented."

What does that even mean?

Last edited by DSpider (2012-07-21 13:02:36)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#2 2012-06-14 17:28:14

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,727

Re: [SOLVED] Do I really have to mount "devpts" when chrooting?

What you need to mount in the chroot depends on what you are going to do in it.


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#3 2012-07-21 13:02:22

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] Do I really have to mount "devpts" when chrooting?

You're right. It does depend on what you plan on doing from the chroot. For example, reinstalling the bootloader only needs /dev and /proc. But correctly using pacman (specifically updating the signature keys), requires /dev and /dev/pts.


Marked as solved.


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#4 2012-07-21 14:58:15

tomegun
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 661

Re: [SOLVED] Do I really have to mount "devpts" when chrooting?

Depending on why you ask the question, you could have a look at arch-chroot from the arch-install-scripts package. It should do something sane for most uses.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB