You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-01 07:49:24

Fio87
Member
Registered: 2012-12-25
Posts: 8

Update broke something (my /usr/lib64 is FILLED with stuff)

Must have something to do with this: Update filesystem-2013.01-1 and glibc-2.17-2 together

I used pacman -Syu just as advised but I still get this huge window telling me to relog because the system couldn't fix some error. I've just closed the windows with alt + f4 and don't have any problems right now, but when I looked into my /usr/lib64 folder I found it full of all kinds of stuff (shouldn't be in there any more from my understanding, right?). The folder /usr/lib64 says it's just a link to folder (inode/directory). What does that mean?

How do I get all those programs to use /usr/lib instead? Is this what's been causing this stupid window to pop up? How can I fix all that?

Offline

#2 2013-02-01 07:54:27

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,105
Website

Re: Update broke something (my /usr/lib64 is FILLED with stuff)

That sounds about right to me; what is the actual problem?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2013-02-01 07:55:55

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,353

Re: Update broke something (my /usr/lib64 is FILLED with stuff)

What's the output of ls -la /usr/lib64? It should be a link to lib/

If it's actually a directory, pacman -Qo /usr/lib64/* should tell you what packages they belong to.

Last edited by Scimmia (2013-02-01 07:57:02)

Offline

#4 2013-02-01 08:05:49

Fio87
Member
Registered: 2012-12-25
Posts: 8

Re: Update broke something (my /usr/lib64 is FILLED with stuff)

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 27. Jan 08:29 /usr/lib64 -> lib

is the output. Sounds about right, doesn't it?

Then where is my problem coming from? I don't really have any issues apart from that stupid window popping up and telling me to log out (even though everything functions just the way it should). Is there any way to say what's actually causing it?

Offline

#5 2013-02-01 08:15:10

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,105
Website

Re: Update broke something (my /usr/lib64 is FILLED with stuff)

Fio87 wrote:

I don't really have any issues apart from that stupid window popping up and telling me to log out (even though everything functions just the way it should). Is there any way to say what's actually causing it?

How? You haven't actually described the problem. No error messages, no details about your setup...
Please read How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
and if you want some assistance, provide some meaningful information for people to help you with.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#6 2013-02-01 08:28:12

Fio87
Member
Registered: 2012-12-25
Posts: 8

Re: Update broke something (my /usr/lib64 is FILLED with stuff)

My bad. I just thought the cause of the problem was fairly easy to find (considering my update yesterday). But your link actually is pretty good, thanks for that.

Here is a screenshot of the problem (right desktop): http://i.imgur.com/UR9vFfw.jpg

Translation:

Unfortunately a problem occurred.
A problem which can not be fixed by the system has occurred. Please sign out and try it again.
[Log out user]

I can just click on the window, press alt + f4 and it's gone and I have no other problems.

I'm running arch with cinnamon on a desktop pc, 64 bit on an intel core 2 quad processor. My graphics card is a nvidia gtx 285 which I run with twinview on a dual screen system. Until today this window had never occured before. My system is completely up to date (pacman -Syu).

I just want this window to not show up every time after i login, since I have no other problems than that.

Last edited by Fio87 (2013-02-01 08:28:58)

Offline

#7 2013-02-01 08:31:04

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,105
Website

Re: Update broke something (my /usr/lib64 is FILLED with stuff)

I don't know how cinammon works, but presumably there is a log somewhere with more detail than that pop-up.
Look through your logs and see what is causing the window to be activated.

Does it only happen in X. You could also create another user and see if it is triggered under that login, or roots.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB