You are not logged in.

#101 2014-05-20 06:06:56

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,123
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Merging with the 'Should I go Arch' thread...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#102 2014-05-20 12:07:17

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 4,034
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

crozet wrote:

I have a laptop with very low performance (amd a4 1200 dual core 1Ghz with radeon 8180 gpu and 4gb ram). Windows 8 works but it is very slow. I installed lubuntu (lxde ubuntu) and performance is a little better but it is still very slow when I open several programs.

Do you think installing arch with lxde or openbox will improve performance ?

Yes, I think Arch Linux will make your computer feel faster. It will probably boot a little faster and Openbox will start in an instant. After that, it all depends on what applications you choose to use. Firefox will (pretty much) take the same amount of time to start on both Ubuntu and Arch Linux.

4GB of RAM is WAY more than I ever need. smile

Also, my laptop has a multi-touch screen, will it work with arch ?

I don't have any experience with multi-touch screens, but if it worked in Ubuntu then yes, you can configure it to work in Arch Linux too.

Offline

#103 2014-05-20 16:01:23

crozet
Member
Registered: 2014-03-29
Posts: 4

Re: Should I go Arch?

ok thank you for the answer, i start the installation and i'll tel you how it feels with arch power wink

Offline

#104 2014-05-20 16:05:55

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 22,290
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

While I agree with drcouzelis, arch itself won't be any faster than any other distro if you use the same software.  Arch just makes it much easier to control what software you are using and what processes will be active at any given time.  The major DEs hide much of this - starting up Gnome 3 (or whatever the heck they're calling it now) will start up all sorts of processes that many users have no need for.  Starting up openbox as `exec openbox` will *only* start the window manager.  But even with this, starting as `exec openbox-session` will start up other processes (depending on your configuration).  Startlxde also will start openbox and a few other bits.

So in short, arch will allow you to control what is running, and arch will allow you to optimize your system to run smoother.  But it is still up to you to use that control and do that optimizing.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#105 2014-05-31 21:17:48

Jean3799
Member
Registered: 2013-06-21
Posts: 31

Re: Should I go Arch?

I have a thinkpad t43 whos specs are:
Pentium M 750 (1.86 GHz)
DDR2 533 memory, and PCI Express graphics

Question: Is arch dutiable for those specs?
ArchLinux runs fine but cpu usage goes to 100% a lot.

Should I use arch or switch to puppy linux?

Offline

#106 2014-05-31 21:22:25

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,123
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Merging with the Should I Go Arch sticky...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#107 2014-05-31 21:42:17

ANOKNUSA
Member
Registered: 2010-10-22
Posts: 2,141

Re: Should I go Arch?

Jean3799 wrote:

I have a thinkpad t43 whos specs are:
Pentium M 750 (1.86 GHz)
DDR2 533 memory, and PCI Express graphics

Question: Is arch dutiable for those specs?
ArchLinux runs fine but cpu usage goes to 100% a lot.

Should I use arch or switch to puppy linux?

See the post by Trillby above your own. On a side note, the second sentence makes it sound like you're already using Arch; did I misread that?

Offline

#108 2014-08-19 23:06:30

Senes
Member
Registered: 2014-08-19
Posts: 1

Re: Should I go Arch?

Hi

I am thinking about installing Arch alone on my main computer wich is still under w7 but before i wanted to be sure that everything will be ok for the compatibility

So, do you know if my SoundBlaster Z will work under Arch?
If not, is there a way to make it function?

My specs:

I5 3570k @ 4.4ghz
Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H uefi
Saphire radeon HD7950 vapor X with boost OC, 1085/1500
Prolimatech lynx
1 to 7200tpm
Carbide 400r
OCZ zs 550W
Soundblaster Z

(btw, everything is supported?)


Thanks in advence big_smile




PS: English is not my native language as you may have noticed

Offline

#109 2014-08-19 23:29:25

emeres
Member
Registered: 2013-10-08
Posts: 1,570

Re: Should I go Arch?

http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index. … ative_Labs
Can you see it there? Seems like it is based on CA0132. Should it not work out of the box, try using the position_fix parameter:

$ cat /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa-base.conf
options snd_hda_intel position_fix=1
#or
options snd_hda_intel position_fix=4

Those two are coming up in a quick search. See the documentation for more information.

As for the rest of the system, you are capable to use google, right? Then do so.

Offline

#110 2014-08-20 00:34:08

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,123
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Merging with the 'Should I go Arch' thread...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#111 2014-10-18 19:57:38

VikingWarrior75
Member
Registered: 2014-10-18
Posts: 12

Re: Should I go Arch?

I went ahead and dowloaded the archlinux iso
and am running it in virtualbox on openSUSE,
so far so good so yes I would say try it in virtualbox
and get the hang of it and then use it for real as your
main PC seems really solid and easy once you get
the hang of it.


Ο Ιησούς είναι ο Κύριος

Offline

#112 2014-11-11 18:18:27

Lax Lexis
Member
Registered: 2013-09-30
Posts: 56

Re: Should I go Arch?

Hello my friends,

I am looking for the new ASUS EeeBook x205 which is comming soon.
It comes with only 2GB of RAM. Are there any problems with the x64 Version of Arch Linux? Should I use the x86 Verison Arch Linux?

Offline

#113 2014-11-11 18:20:03

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,123
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Merging with the "Should I go Arch?" thread...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#114 2014-11-11 18:50:34

bstaletic
Member
Registered: 2014-02-02
Posts: 658

Re: Should I go Arch?

Lax Lexis,

go for the 64 bit edition.

Offline

#115 2015-01-06 02:12:11

Sagformas
Member
From: Murcia
Registered: 2014-09-29
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Good evening to all:

I need your advice in a point smile, because i want to install ArchLinux on servers and workstations of own nonprofit proyect, but i need know if ArchLinux is good for this point.

I have used ArchLinux since 2013 on my Home Desktop and i have had only a bug with Archlinux, catalyst-test + Xorg 1.16...crash, my experience says that this is a good idea but... and ¿you? smile

Many thanks for your time ^^

P.D:
Ups, sorry for my english, I am spanish smile

Last edited by Sagformas (2015-01-06 02:14:52)

Offline

#116 2015-01-06 02:25:18

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,123
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Merging with the Should I go Arch thread...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#117 2015-01-06 02:32:09

Sagformas
Member
From: Murcia
Registered: 2014-09-29
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Thanks  jasonwryan, i didn't know if it was fine wink

Offline

#118 2015-01-06 10:19:18

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 5,317

Re: Should I go Arch?

As a rule of thumb, if you have to ask the question, then the answer is probably "no".

Offline

#119 2015-01-06 14:39:53

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 4,034
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Sagformas wrote:

I have used ArchLinux since 2013 on my Home Desktop

You used Arch Linux for more than one year. I think you know from experience if it will be good on your server and workstation computers. wink

Offline

#120 2015-01-06 22:42:13

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 1,022

Re: Should I go Arch?

drcouzelis wrote:
Sagformas wrote:

I have used ArchLinux since 2013 on my Home Desktop

You used Arch Linux for more than one year. I think you know from experience if it will be good on your server and workstation computers. wink

I ise Arch for more than 2 years. I think you know for experience that is not a good idea use a rolling distro for a production or non personal desktop in a busnes .


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#121 2015-03-10 17:00:01

KeyKobra09
Member
Registered: 2015-03-10
Posts: 1

Re: Should I go Arch?

I was using windows until a year ago when i got a new computer. It came with ubuntu on it and since then, i didn't even bother booting into windows. I only played cs go anyway and i could play it very well on ubuntu. I also did some research on the tehnical side of ubuntu (learned what the heck was happening). On a forum i saw a post saying that arch linux is the heaven for anyone who likes to customize his OS to the max. I was always dissapointed because of the lack of customization options on windows and ubuntu. Now that i learned that Arch is the heaven of customization and DIY, i am really into it. I am currently dual-booting windows and ubuntu (with the grub bootloader).

My question is, will i handle arch with only 1 year of ubuntu experience or should i read some C/C++ books before( I heard that is the language that all linuxes are made of ). I thing i can handle the installation ( because of the awsome guides that you guys made ) and i think i will enjoy arch. But will i be able to triple-boot arch ubuntu and windows or can i simply "overwrite" Ubuntu and forget about it? I also thought I may have to become more familiar with the tehnical side of linux by using another distro for a time before i actually install Arch, or else i will feel like a peasant in a big city. Thanks in advance guys.

Offline

#122 2015-03-10 17:03:26

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,123
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

Merging with the Should I go Arch thread...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#123 2015-03-10 17:09:12

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 22,290
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

KeyKobra09 wrote:

My question is, will i handle arch with only 1 year of ubuntu experience...

You absolutely could - given you have other important abilities.  Experience with other linuxes is not nearly as important as a more general ability and willingness to learn.  One of archlinux's greatest strengths is the wiki.  An ability and willingness to spend a little time learning and reading (and a bit of patience) as you run into little challenges are really the only things I see as prerequistes to using arch.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#124 2015-03-10 17:09:30

nullified
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2013-12-09
Posts: 468

Re: Should I go Arch?

KeyKobra09 wrote:

My question is, will i handle arch with only 1 year of ubuntu experience or should i read some C/C++ books before( I heard that is the language that all linuxes are made of ). I thing i can handle the installation ( because of the awsome guides that you guys made ) and i think i will enjoy arch. But will i be able to triple-boot arch ubuntu and windows or can i simply "overwrite" Ubuntu and forget about it? I also thought I may have to become more familiar with the tehnical side of linux by using another distro for a time before i actually install Arch, or else i will feel like a peasant in a big city. Thanks in advance guys.

You certainly don't need C/C++ experience. It also depends on how much Linux experience you've had while using Ubuntu. It's pretty easy to use Ubuntu without ever really learning about Linux. You should be comfortable at the command line, at the least. Add that to a desire to learn about Linux and I'd say go for it. Any answers more specific will require specifics about your knowledge of Linux, i.e. what kind of experience you've had on Ubuntu.


"We may say most aptly, that the Analytical Engine weaves algebraical patterns just as the Jacquard-loom weaves flowers and leaves." - Ada Lovelace

Offline

#125 2015-03-10 17:17:04

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 4,034
Website

Re: Should I go Arch?

KeyKobra09 wrote:

should i read some C/C++ books before( I heard that is the language that all linuxes are made of ).

Goodness, NO. Most Arch Linux users are not programmers. Don't learn C or C++ unless you want to be a C or C++ programmer. tongue

The only thing you need to install Arch Linux is the Beginner's Guide. If there's anything in it that you don't understand, then you can follow the links and learn more about it.

KeyKobra09 wrote:

But will i be able to triple-boot arch ubuntu and windows or can i simply "overwrite" Ubuntu and forget about it?

Yes and no...

Yes, because Arch Linux can replace Ubuntu.

No, because it will take time before you are finished setting up Arch Linux how you like it. This may take a couple hours, days, or even weeks. I don't think installing Arch Linux is hard, but after you finish installing it I think you will say to yourself, "WOW! This is amazing! But it's not quite the way I want it. So how do I..." and you will spend a lot of time configuring your system. Keep this in mind if you need to use your compture for work or homework or any other business.

KeyKobra09 wrote:

I also thought I may have to become more familiar with the tehnical side of linux by using another distro for a time before i actually install Arch, or else i will feel like a peasant in a big city.

The best way to become familiar with Arch Linux is to use Arch Linux. Consider installing it in VirtualBox (in Ubuntu) to learn more about it. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB