You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-27 01:24:40

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Well, hello there!  I'm posting this message using my newly installed Arch Linux system, via my shinny Konqueror web browser!   8)

Issues thus far:

1 - no sound support.  I get an error during boot... I'll have to write the error down the next time I reboot.

2 - I have to manually run dhcpcd eth0 at the command prompt before I get access to the web.  I'll have to figure out how to do this automatically when I boot up.

Well, this is great.  I get further every session.

Offline

#2 2005-10-27 01:51:05

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

judland wrote:

2 - I have to manually run dhcpcd eth0 at the command prompt before I get access to the web.  I'll have to figure out how to do this automatically when I boot up.

Well, this is great.  I get further every session.

Did you add network to the DAEMONS array of rc.conf?

Offline

#3 2005-10-27 06:02:49

mpie
Member
From: 404 Not found
Registered: 2005-03-06
Posts: 649

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

have you run alsaconf as root?
select your card from the list and it will sort your sound
then run alsamixer to adjust the sound to your liking then run alsactl store and add alsa to your rc.conf

Offline

#4 2005-10-27 13:52:09

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Thanks!

I'll try all of these suggestions during this evening's session.

Much appreciated.

Offline

#5 2005-10-28 00:31:42

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

I got the network to startup during boot.  I just had to change the command eth0= from "192.168.0.1 .....  etc" to "dhcp" in rc.conf

I also followed the instructions on the Wiki and replaced hotplug with hwd.  Wow, I've never had a system boot up in 32 seconds.  I counted, cause the first time it happened I couldn't believe it!

Sound still isn't working, but I'm working on it.  I tried running alsaconf, but that command doesn't seem to exist.  I tried pacman'ing (is that a new term I've just created?  big_smile  ) alsa-driver, alsa-lib, and alsa-utils, but that didn't seem to help me.

Offline

#6 2005-10-28 01:20:35

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

take out hwd and make it load modules statically and you can probably boot faster than 30 smile

Dusty

Offline

#7 2005-10-28 01:34:09

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

/usr/sbin/alsaconf is owned by alsa-utils. Maybe /usr/sbin isn't in your PATH or try reinstalling alsa-utils.

Offline

#8 2005-10-28 01:34:54

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Whoa!  One miracle at a time, Dusty  lol

I just finished setting up autofs, as well.  I know, you guys are probably laughing at me, but to me this stuff is pretty amazing.  I'm enjoying learning all of this very much.

Offline

#9 2005-10-29 01:02:19

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Okay, I found and ran alsaconf in an attempt to configure the on-board sound chip, but with no luck.  No sound device could be found.

Now, I know that Kanotix Linux (a live CD distro) can find the sound chip on this PII.  So, my question is, would there be a way to let Kanotix do it's thing, then find the script where the settings would be stored (in the RAM disk, of course) and use that to help configure Alsa under Arch?

Offline

#10 2005-10-29 01:09:36

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

wtf? I swear my post was in response to a different thread..... DIBBLE!!!! YOUR FORUMS ARE BROKEN!!!!! mwah. must have been the thread split.

For your alsa problem, are you loading the sound module, I ca'n ttell... if you don't know what the module is, run the kanotix and type lsmod and search for something that contains 'snd' in the output or something.

Perhaps a udev problem too...

Dusty

Offline

#11 2005-10-29 01:24:06

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Thanks, Dusty.  Will try that and see what I get.

I don't think any modules are being loaded on boot, which I think is what you're asking me (replaced hotplug with hwd yesterday).  I don't see any such message, like "Sound card detected" or something like that.  I see a message that the network getting started and autofs being assigned to /media... that sort of thing.  But no sound related message.

Offline

#12 2005-10-29 01:30:28

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Kanotix reports that it detects:

Soundcard: Creative SB32 PnP - CTL0031 driver=snd-sbawe

Is there any way I can tell Arch to configure the same settings?

Offline

#13 2005-10-29 01:30:59

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

what happens if you run alsamixer?

Dusty

Offline

#14 2005-10-29 01:34:31

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

Offline

#15 2005-10-29 02:01:37

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

I'm taking a shot in the dark here, but would there be something I could do with modprobe to specify that the snd-sbawe should be used for sound?  Or does it work that way?

Offline

#16 2005-10-29 02:21:28

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

judland wrote:

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

Usually those errors occur if your sound module is not loaded. Did you modprobe snd-sbawe?

Offline

#17 2005-10-29 02:28:55

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Try:
modprobe snd-sbawe
alsamixer

I didn't use alsaconf to setup my sound.

Offline

#18 2005-10-29 02:42:15

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

OOps.. spoke to soon.

I only heard sound when I was "testing" the sound settings under KDE Control Center.  Sound doesn't work anywhere else and under KDE, KMix doesn't give me any control options.  In fact, the window is completely blank.

rasat is being kind enough to do some research for me on this.

Oh well, I thought I had it figured out.

===================================================================
Initially posted:

Wha?!  You telling me it was that simple?  Gosh!

So, once I figured out the specific sound driver all I had to do was run modprobe snd-sbawe?

All I had to do after that is allow user access to /dev/dsp and now I've got sound!  Thanks, guys!  It's so easy.... when you know what you're doing.  wink

Offline

#19 2005-10-29 03:01:51

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

what happens if you type 'cat /dev/dsp' at a terminal? (if it makes a bunch of noise, that's good, press ctrl-c to stop it.

Dusty

Offline

#20 2005-10-29 03:42:29

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Hmmm.. no sound, but a bunch of little squares scroll continuously down the screen.

Offline

#21 2005-10-29 03:55:42

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

oops, that was the wrong command.

What is the right command? I don't remember.... cat /dev/random > /dev/dsp or something

sounds like your permissions are up though

what happens if you type 'alsamixer' are the channels muted? (M at the top of the bar)

Dusty

Offline

#22 2005-10-29 04:02:47

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Hmmm... nope.  From the command line, when I execute alasmixer, everything seems to be active.  It's a mystery to me.

Offline

#23 2005-10-29 04:20:04

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

ok, maybe its one of those bloody weird problems that comes up occasionally where you have to have certain channels muted and others working for it to work....

If you play a file in, eg xmms, does it appear to play, but no sound, or does it complain and throw an error?

Dusty

Offline

#24 2005-10-29 05:10:54

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

Okay....  let me see if I can explain all that's going on.

1) I shutdown and rebooted the system.

2) I started up KDE, and as it's been, no sound system could be detected.

3) I get to a root command prompt.  I look for /dev/dsp and find no such directory.

4) I then typed: modprobe snd-sbawe

5) /dev/dsp now appears (but is -> sound/dsp).  Everything in sound is only accessible to root.

6) I give rwx access to all users for all devices in /dev/sound directory.

7) I go back in to KDE.... sound support restored.  Kmix is now working and allowing me to adjust sound levels.

8 ) All of this remains working until I shutdown... then I lose all of my /dev/sound settings.

Wow.... what a process.  But at least I've tracked down the issues.  I just don't know why they're happening or how to make the setup permanent.

Offline

#25 2005-10-29 05:33:42

judland
Member
From: Sask., Canada
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 55
Website

Re: no sound or network after fresh install [split]

By the way... thanks for all of the help!  I appreciate the effort.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB