You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-19 19:20:13

brando56894
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 623

USB in VirtualBox

I know this has been covered many times and I found a few threads on it but they all pretty old and no longer apply since things have changed since the switch to Systemd. The solution in the wiki (adding VBOX_USB=usbfs to .bashrc) doesn't seem to work (yes I started a new bash session) and my user is a member of the vboxdrv group, it won't work with the root account either. The kernel module is also loaded.

Here's the exact error:

Failed to access the USB subsystem.

VERR_NOT_FOUND

Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x00004005)
Component: Host
Interface: IHost {30678943-32df-4830-b413-931b25ac86a0}
Callee: IMachine {22781af3-1c96-4126-9edf-67a020e0e858}

I get that whenever I doubleclick on the Network section.

Last edited by brando56894 (2013-04-19 19:21:37)

Offline

#2 2013-04-20 07:33:05

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: USB in VirtualBox

This has been covered, many, many, many times on this forum.

Uninstall VirtualBox, reboot, reinstall it according to the wiki, and reboot. Use 'makepkg -s' to compile the extension pack; don't use some kind of AUR helper.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/VirtualBox
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AU … g_packages

And remove that stuff from ~/.bashrc. You don't need it. Nobody ever needed it. I don't even know why it's in the wiki...

Are you in the "storage" group? Post the output of:

$ groups your_username

Also, double click the Network section? ... ? Wut? There is no such thing in VirtualBox.


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#3 2013-04-22 16:31:59

brando56894
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 623

Re: USB in VirtualBox

I think my user not being a member of the storage group was the problem, thanks! Also there definitely is a Network section: as soon as you open VB its the 6th section down in the right-hand pane smile When you double-click it, it open up the Network Settings page.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB