You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-14 21:41:59

jdahlum
Member
Registered: 2014-01-14
Posts: 2

Rsync Backup and KCore

Guys,

I searched the bbs and wiki and I don't seem to be able to find an answer to this.  I just got my first installation of Arch up and running and fully configured the way I want it (it took a while!).  I followed the Wiki entry for using rsync to do a full system backup to another disk on my system.  The problem I'm running into is it tries to backup /proc/kcore and of course this a huge virtual file.  It just fills up backup drive and fails. 

I don't want to exclude /proc because I want to do a full backup to the second disk and actually be able to boot into it in case I mess something up on the main disk.  Anyone else see this?  I was thinking of just booting the USB stick and dd'ing the main disk but I like the option of routinely using rsync to maintain current backups.  Any help would be appreciated!

Jamie

Offline

#2 2014-01-14 22:09:48

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Rsync Backup and KCore

/proc is pseudo filesystem, it gets created at boot, so it's safe to exclude it.

Offline

#3 2014-01-14 23:16:28

rebootl
Member
Registered: 2012-01-10
Posts: 427
Website

Re: Rsync Backup and KCore

@karol: Maybe a stupid question, but do you know if it needs an empty (/proc) directory as mountpoint, for booting ?

It's funny though ls -lh shows kcore as 128T, that would be really huge ? Never noticed that..

Regards


Personal website: cem.revamp-it.ch
GitHub: github.com/rebootl

Offline

#4 2014-01-14 23:25:40

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Rsync Backup and KCore

On my system kcore is smaller

$ ls -lh /proc/kcore 
-r-------- 1 root root 1016M Jan 15 00:14 /proc/kcore

I think /proc gets created at boot:

$ ls -l / | grep proc
dr-xr-xr-x 82 root root     0 Jan 12 21:58 proc
$ uptime
 00:22:15 up 2 days,  2:23,  1 user,  load average: 0.11, 0.56, 0.43

(yes, I know, I shouldn't be grepping ls)


As https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ta … is_page.3F says, the page needs some love. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php?ti … did=291654 is the edit that removed the excludes.

Offline

#5 2014-01-15 00:20:11

rebootl
Member
Registered: 2012-01-10
Posts: 427
Website

Re: Rsync Backup and KCore

Ah yeah, I see. Thanks.

$ ls -lh /proc/kcore
-r-------- 1 root root 128T Jan 15 01:08 /proc/kcore
$ ls -l /proc/kcore
-r-------- 1 root root 140737486262272 Jan 15 01:09 /proc/kcore

It's weird, but it's really. (even as root, yeah I really shouldn't use root either...)


Personal website: cem.revamp-it.ch
GitHub: github.com/rebootl

Offline

#6 2014-01-15 00:24:48

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Rsync Backup and KCore

kcore is not a problem

$ df -h /proc/kcore
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
proc               0     0     0    - /proc

Exclude /proc, /dev etc. and backup your system.


https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 00#p686200
http://www.novell.com/support/kb/doc.php?id=7004153

Last edited by karol (2014-01-15 00:32:58)

Offline

#7 2014-01-15 04:20:47

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Rsync Backup and KCore

That edit has been undone. Please re-read https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fu … with_rsync and try the script again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB