You are not logged in.

#1 2006-01-17 21:25:23

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Jacman 0.3 released

Announcement: Jacman 0.3 released.

Thanks to all the hard work from SoniX and input from halmcelroy, plus the bits that chipped in, we finally have a new release.

See the Jacman project page for more info and screenshots.

Multi-lingual support, preferences dialog, system tray access, pacman-optimize and colour console sum up this release. See the Readme for more information.

AUR/Community info: as Jacman is in Community, I don't have control of the package in the AUR any more. I've emailed Dibble and hopefully both the PKGBUILD and the binary will appear shortly. (I'll post a follow up as soon as I know.)

In the meantime:

PKGBUILD
jacman-0.3-1.pkg.tar.gz

Enjoy! Please report back to the team with feedback. Contributors welcome (just drop me a message).

Offline

#2 2006-01-17 22:12:17

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

cogrants roo, and thanks for all your hard work on jacman. smile
jacman is by far the best gui frontend for pacman. It simply looks..gorgeous. o.O
my only criticism.. the little pacman in the upper right corner..looks like he just encountered a ghost. Right before he folds in on himself and dies. Maybe rotate him around a bit so it looks like he is in "consume dot" mode.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2006-01-17 22:21:27

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

cactus wrote:

cogrants roo, and thanks for all your hard work on jacman. smile
jacman is by far the best gui frontend for pacman. It simply looks..gorgeous. o.O
my only criticism.. the little pacman in the upper right corner..looks like he just encountered a ghost. Right before he folds in on himself and dies. Maybe rotate him around a bit so it looks like he is in "consume dot" mode.

Thanks for the comments. We will continue to improve the looks in the future. I think the next release will have an emphasis on performance. I really want to knock the start-up time down.

I'm looking forward to the next release of Java (jdk1.6 aka Mustang) which I've been testing and it already makes a big difference in terms of responsiveness and start-up. In the meantime, we shall endeavour to make things snappier.

Regarding the logo. The idea was to make it look like a 'J' and pacman. So yeah, I know it's on it's side. But if I ever get around to making a splash screen, the first letter will be the logo itself, followed by 'acman'. That's the theory any way.  If you don't like it, you can always open jacman.jar, edit the logo and save.

Offline

#4 2006-01-18 00:30:36

elasticdog
Member
From: Washington, USA
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 995
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

It's looking great arooaroo...I'll have to download the new version and give it a spin!

Offline

#5 2006-01-18 10:50:58

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

He

i´m impressed by the screenshots on ur side. This is really the best looking and, as i read your projectpage, feature-richest pacman frontend out there.

So i installed it on my PC.But, what the ..., i can´t run it.

This is the error i´ve got:

[volker@LegBox jacman]$ jacman 
Initialisation error: Couldn't find properties file.
java.io.FileNotFoundException: jacman.properties (No such file or directory)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at andyr.jacman.utils.JacmanUtils.copyFile(JacmanUtils.java:75)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.initUserPrefsDirectory(Jacman.java:189)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.<init>(Jacman.java:117)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.<init>(Jacman.java:111)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman$18.run(Jacman.java:735)
    at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Can't create user directory. Haven't written code to cope with this yet, therefore I will abort. Sorry!
/home/volker/.jacman/jacman.properties
Could not find jacman.propertiesconfiguration file. Using built-in defaults instead.
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/jgoodies/plaf/plastic/PlasticXPLookAndFeel
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.configureJGoodiesLAF(Jacman.java:648)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.createGUI(Jacman.java:613)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman$18.run(Jacman.java:769)
    at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

Offline

#6 2006-01-18 11:56:22

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Hmm... that's interesting.

Jacman now stores config settings in ~/.jacman/jacman.properties.

The logic when loading is as follows:

if ~/.jacman/jacman.properties exists
  load the properties
else
  create ~/.jacman (if it's not there already)
  create a default jacman.properties in ~/.jacman
  load these settings and continue

I made the assumption for now that it would always be able to write this file to ~/.jacman and therefore proceed ok. I've tested plenty of times so I'm pretty sure the code required to create the .jacman dir is sound. I will do more investigation tonight.

In the meantime, create ~/.jacman yourself. Then copy the following into it:

http://cvs.berlios.de/cgi-bin/viewcvs.c … text/plain

I guess I do need to make sure this stuff is more robust.

Offline

#7 2006-01-18 12:10:17

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

The ~/.jacman is created if i start jacman.

But there´s no jacman.properties in it.

So i copied the text from cvs and saved this in jacman.properties by hand.

After that jacman still won´t start.

Here´s the error:


/home/volker/.jacman/jacman.properties
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/jgoodies/plaf/plastic/PlasticXPLookAndFeel
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.configureJGoodiesLAF(Jacman.java:648)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.createGUI(Jacman.java:613)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman$18.run(Jacman.java:769)
    at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

Offline

#8 2006-01-18 12:30:45

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Hmmm... that's really strange. That worked ok for me last night.

The problem here is that there's a library called looks-1.2.2.jar that Java can't seem to find.

If you check /usr/bin/jacman you'll which is a really simple bash script. All the libs for jacman should live in /usr/share/java/jacman/ so you could check that looks-1.2.2.jar is in there.

If not, you can once again grab that file from the CVS   (http://cvs.berlios.de/cgi-bin/viewcvs.c … acman/lib/).

Alternatively, you could wait until tonight where I'll investigate what exactly is going wrong. The install worked ok for me. hmm

Offline

#9 2006-01-18 12:55:35

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

/usr/share/java/jacman existst, but there is nothing inside.

Offline

#10 2006-01-18 13:03:20

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

HMMMM, what should i say. The problem was very simple.

Something while building the Package myself didn´t work. I used your PKGBUILD.

I´ve downloaded and installed the Package u´ve made and now jacman works like charme big_smile

Offline

#11 2006-01-18 13:28:11

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Legout wrote:

HMMMM, what should i say. The problem was very simple.

Something while building the Package myself didn´t work. I used your PKGBUILD.

I´ve downloaded and installed the Package u´ve made and now jacman works like charme big_smile

Thanks for spotting the problem! How strange that the script was empty! I will build and test the package again tonight.

I'm glad it worked fine with the PKGBUILD though.  What happens if you remove the ~/.jacman directory and run Jacman, do you get the old errors?

Offline

#12 2006-01-18 13:36:29

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Sorry, my english is not so good, so i think you haven´t understood me (or i haven´t you??))

Building jacman with your PKGBUILG: jacman didn´t work!!

The jacman-package i´ve made with your PKGBUILD only includes the jacman.jar file nothing else.

Installing your jacman Package: jacman works!!

And to your question about removing ~/.jacman. I did this and started jacman. jacman works, and i´ve got this message:

Initialisation error: Couldn't find properties file.
java.io.FileNotFoundException: jacman.properties (No such file or directory)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at andyr.jacman.utils.JacmanUtils.copyFile(JacmanUtils.java:75)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.initUserPrefsDirectory(Jacman.java:189)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.<init>(Jacman.java:117)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman.<init>(Jacman.java:111)
    at andyr.jacman.Jacman$18.run(Jacman.java:735)
    at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Can't create user directory. Haven't written code to cope with this yet, therefore I will abort. Sorry!
/home/volker/.jacman/jacman.properties
Could not find jacman.propertiesconfiguration file. Using built-in defaults instead.

Offline

#13 2006-01-18 14:06:21

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Ah, sorry, I misread your message - you're English was fine.

Installing from my binary -> works
Installing from my PKGBUILD = not work

Clearly, this is confusing as my binary package was built with the PKGBUILD!

I think I know what the issue is with that error, but I need to look further tonight. In the meantime, you may have to copy that properties file back to the ~/.jacman to avoid those error messages.

Offline

#14 2006-01-18 20:42:22

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Dear Jacman users - please read

Due to poor QA on my part in my rush to get 0.3 released, there is an annoying bug that occurs during initialisation. Thanks to Legout for reporting this. It relates to the creation of the default properties file.

I will be releasing 0.3.1 shortly which contains a fix (I'll post when ready). In the mean time, there is a remedy:

1. mkdir ~/.jacman
2. Save the default jacman.properties to this directory (~/.jacman).

Get the file from:
http://cvs.berlios.de/cgi-bin/viewcvs.c … text/plain

Sorry about that guys  :oops:

Offline

#15 2006-01-18 21:23:13

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Jacman 0.3.1 released

Again, apologies for messing up the 0.3 release. Anyway the fix is out.

1. Download jacman-0.3.1-1.pkg.tar.gz from the Jacman page. Then `pacman -U jacman-0.3.1-1.pkg.tar.gz'.
2. Generate the package yourself: PKGBUILD & jacman.sh.

I'll have to nag Dibble again now to add this release to the AUR/Community repo.

Offline

#16 2006-01-18 22:48:39

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

First thing's first:

arooaroo wrote:

Ah, sorry, I misread your message - you're English was fine.

Te-he! within that context that was funny.  (Not picking on you - I do that constantly - even worse is there/they're/their)

Secondly, aroo - jacman looks freakin awesome... I may actually have to try it *shock and amazement*

Offline

#17 2006-01-19 10:11:14

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

phrakture wrote:

First thing's first:

arooaroo wrote:

Ah, sorry, I misread your message - you're English was fine.

Te-he! within that context that was funny.  (Not picking on you - I do that constantly - even worse is there/they're/their)

hehe - that is funny. I do that stuff ALL the time, and then I secretly scoff at those who make equally silly mistakes. My only defense is that I do know what I should write, but my fingers don't always engage with my brain and so they start to do their own thing.

phrakture wrote:

Secondly, aroo - jacman looks freakin awesome... I may actually have to try it *shock and amazement*

Cheers!

Now, what can we do to get Dusty to make friends with Java again and help out. I need more contributors for all the ideas I'm having!

Offline

#18 2006-01-19 10:34:10

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

lol glad you took the prompt with the updates to the build files smile

I was on some dodgy free network in Angel and my CVS commit timed out so that is a bit up the creek - hopefully fixed soonish tho...

Interview for new job today...

Offline

#19 2006-01-19 10:42:07

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

dibblethewrecker wrote:

lol glad you took the prompt with the updates to the build files smile

I was on some dodgy free network in Angel and my CVS commit timed out so that is a bit up the creek - hopefully fixed soonish tho...

Interview for new job today...

Cool. You gonna be working in Londres? (If you get the job?)

Offline

#20 2006-01-21 10:20:50

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Should be all fixed up now smile

Offline

#21 2006-01-22 08:34:36

paul2lv
Member
From: Vegas
Registered: 2005-11-09
Posts: 116

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Jacman refuses to start and gives me this error:

[paulb@machine ~]$ jacman
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: andyr/jacman/Jacman

Any ideas ??

Offline

#22 2006-01-22 12:04:44

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

paul2lv wrote:

Jacman refuses to start and gives me this error:

[paulb@machine ~]$ jacman
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: andyr/jacman/Jacman

Any ideas ??

How did you install, using the AUR or Community repo? If so, I've just noticed a bug in which Dibble didn't use the updated jacman.sh I made.

As root, edit the /usr/bin/jacman.sh file. In side you'll see line 3 begins as follows:

CP=/usr/share/jacman/jacman-0.3.jar

You need to change it to:

CP=/usr/share/jacman/jacman-0.3.1.jar

Note how the version number is 0.3.1 on the amended code.

Alternatively, you can install the package I made on the Jacman web site.

Offline

#23 2006-01-22 18:34:26

paul2lv
Member
From: Vegas
Registered: 2005-11-09
Posts: 116

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

I used the one from Community.
Editing jacman.sh fixed it. Thanks !  big_smile

Offline

#24 2006-01-22 18:37:44

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

paul2lv wrote:

I used the one from Community.
Editing jacman.sh fixed it. Thanks !  big_smile

I'm glad it's working.

I've contacted Dibble again to ask if he can fix the package in Community. He mustn't have released that I changed the jacman.sh file. Unfortunately, I can't do anything about the package in the repos. I don't even have control of the jacman entry in the AUR now that the package graduated to Community.

Offline

#25 2006-01-23 15:18:28

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Jacman 0.3 released

Hmmmm - i it entirely necessary for the jacman jar file to even carry the version?  Would it save unecessary complication to remove it?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB