You are not logged in.

#1 2016-05-13 08:03:03

hungerfish
Member
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 254

DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

So, I updated my system after a 4 Week hiatus, and am having a whole host of issues of 'papercuts', mostly down to gtk3 updates and something wrong with fontconfig.

One of those issues is, that my statusbar no longer is hidden during fullscreen html5 video playback with firefox.
VLC works just fine, I can also manually hide the bar with the dwm-togglebar() function, but this used to 'just work'.

A different but perhaps related problem also affects the statusbar. I've been using "siji-font" for icon-glyphs, and before the updates, they used to scale when I changed the fontsize in DWM's config.h
Since the updates they just remain at their (default?) size, which for me is rather tiny. I've since tested other 'icon-fonts' like "stlarch_font", and they have the same problem. If I just use regular numbers for the tags using the 'regular' font, everything scales properly.

Anybody else using DWM seeing this?


Beetles and bacteria are vastly more successful than humans in terms of survival.

Offline

#2 2016-05-23 03:01:21

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 160
Website

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

I'm having the same problem. as of version 46, firefox fullscreen will not cover the dwm status bar. I've tried it on i3, and it works fine so it seems to be something it doesn't like about dwm. I've already filed a bug with bugzilla...we'll see what happens. Now, as to your font problem, I know two updates ago, dwm began support for true type fonts, I began using "cantrell-fonts" it seems to work fine. If you're updating from 6.0 to 6.1, you have to re-do a lot of stuff in the config.h

Last edited by wchouser3 (2016-05-23 03:02:53)


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#3 2016-05-24 10:03:05

hungerfish
Member
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 254

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

Could you perhaps share that bugzilla link? I've since posting heard from others also experiencing this, like to keep up to date!

Its not a true-type issue, I'm running the latest dwm-git code and also all 'normal'(ttf,otf) fonts display fine, its just this bit-mapped font with the special icon-glyphs that are off, but I've since got used to it so I guess I no longer care wink


Beetles and bacteria are vastly more successful than humans in terms of survival.

Offline

#4 2016-06-15 03:30:49

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 160
Website

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

hungerfish wrote:

Could you perhaps share that bugzilla link? I've since posting heard from others also experiencing this, like to keep up to date

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1274813

I've upgraded to version 47, and the problem still hasn't been addressed. I feel like I'm missing something


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#5 2016-06-15 05:16:52

Vain
Member
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 179
Website

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

This looks like Firefox doesn't even try to go fullscreen. F11 doesn't work either. It's also not really related to the status bar -- the Firefox window just stays in its current tile/position.

My first guess: Maybe Firefox looks for the _NET_SUPPORTING_WM_CHECK method which dwm does not support. See if you can find a dwm patch that adds support for this and try again. smile

Offline

#6 2016-06-18 23:46:36

rzrscm
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 95

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

The problem is that it's not even actually going fullscreen;  it's just filling the area of the Firefox window.  If you have borders enabled, you'll see that they're still there when you try to go fullscreen.  My "solution" for the time being is to remove the borders from the config and hide the statusbar with mod+b when I want to go fullscreen.

Offline

#7 2016-06-19 06:36:29

Vain
Member
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 179
Website

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

Here's a preliminary patch to add support for _NET_SUPPORTING_WM_CHECK to current dwm:

diff --git a/dwm.c b/dwm.c
index ff7e096..454fb36 100644
--- a/dwm.c
+++ b/dwm.c
@@ -60,7 +60,7 @@
 /* enums */
 enum { CurNormal, CurResize, CurMove, CurLast }; /* cursor */
 enum { SchemeNorm, SchemeSel, SchemeLast }; /* color schemes */
-enum { NetSupported, NetWMName, NetWMState,
+enum { NetSupported, NetWMName, NetWMState, NetSupportingWMCheck,
        NetWMFullscreen, NetActiveWindow, NetWMWindowType,
        NetWMWindowTypeDialog, NetClientList, NetLast }; /* EWMH atoms */
 enum { WMProtocols, WMDelete, WMState, WMTakeFocus, WMLast }; /* default atoms */
@@ -490,6 +490,7 @@ cleanup(void)
 	XSync(dpy, False);
 	XSetInputFocus(dpy, PointerRoot, RevertToPointerRoot, CurrentTime);
 	XDeleteProperty(dpy, root, netatom[NetActiveWindow]);
+	XDeleteProperty(dpy, root, netatom[NetSupportingWMCheck]);
 }
 
 void
@@ -1574,6 +1575,7 @@ setup(void)
 	wmatom[WMTakeFocus] = XInternAtom(dpy, "WM_TAKE_FOCUS", False);
 	netatom[NetActiveWindow] = XInternAtom(dpy, "_NET_ACTIVE_WINDOW", False);
 	netatom[NetSupported] = XInternAtom(dpy, "_NET_SUPPORTED", False);
+	netatom[NetSupportingWMCheck] = XInternAtom(dpy, "_NET_SUPPORTING_WM_CHECK", False);
 	netatom[NetWMName] = XInternAtom(dpy, "_NET_WM_NAME", False);
 	netatom[NetWMState] = XInternAtom(dpy, "_NET_WM_STATE", False);
 	netatom[NetWMFullscreen] = XInternAtom(dpy, "_NET_WM_STATE_FULLSCREEN", False);
@@ -1598,6 +1600,14 @@ setup(void)
 	XChangeProperty(dpy, root, netatom[NetSupported], XA_ATOM, 32,
 			PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *) netatom, NetLast);
 	XDeleteProperty(dpy, root, netatom[NetClientList]);
+	/* EWMH support for _NET_SUPPORTING_WM_CHECK */
+	XChangeProperty(dpy, root, netatom[NetSupportingWMCheck], XA_WINDOW,
+	                32, PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)&mons->barwin, 1);
+	XChangeProperty(dpy, mons->barwin, netatom[NetSupportingWMCheck], XA_WINDOW,
+	                32, PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)&mons->barwin, 1);
+	XChangeProperty(dpy, mons->barwin, netatom[NetWMName],
+	                XInternAtom(dpy, "UTF8_STRING", False), 8,
+	                PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)"dwm", strlen("dwm"));
 	/* select for events */
 	wa.cursor = cursor[CurNormal]->cursor;
 	wa.event_mask = SubstructureRedirectMask|SubstructureNotifyMask|ButtonPressMask|PointerMotionMask

With this patch, my Firefox goes fullscreen again. If this works for you as well, then this issue should be raised on the suckless mailing list.

Note: There was a thread on the list in 2014 regarding a similar matter:

http://lists.suckless.org/dev/1411/24636.html

But this never took off. Also note that Quentin's patch works a litttle different. I believe that mine is closer to the actual spec, though.

Last edited by Vain (2016-06-19 06:36:51)

Offline

#8 2016-08-25 00:36:01

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 160
Website

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

ah good....I'll give this a try this weekend. I had all but given up on dwm because of it, in favor of i3. I'll post later if I get it to work.


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#9 2016-08-25 01:07:21

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 160
Website

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

Well....the package won't build with your patch. It says a line ends in the middle. I'm no coder, so I wouldn't know what to look for.


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#10 2016-08-29 14:35:14

Vain
Member
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 179
Website

Re: DWM Statusbar problems with firefox fullscreen video and icon glyphs

Hi,

how are you applying the patch? Works for me:

$ git clone git://git.suckless.org/dwm
Cloning into 'dwm'...
remote: Counting objects: 6283, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (2995/2995), done.
remote: Total 6283 (delta 3617), reused 5903 (delta 3287)
Receiving objects: 100% (6283/6283), 5.79 MiB | 1.64 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (3617/3617), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
$ cd dwm/
$ patch -p1 <patch 
patching file dwm.c
Hunk #1 succeeded at 61 (offset 1 line).
Hunk #2 succeeded at 489 (offset -1 lines).
Hunk #3 succeeded at 1573 (offset -2 lines).
Hunk #4 succeeded at 1594 (offset -6 lines).

To create the file `patch`, I just copied the code from my previous posting.

Maybe your editor screwed up whitespace? Are you using the Git version of dwm?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB