You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-17 18:11:27

addicted

DE switch Question

Hi, I'm new to Linux.Used Mint & Ubuntu for 2 Month & switched to Arch.

After installation of Arch,i installed KDE.
used it for 30 min (slow startup,except dolphine nothing i liked there) & switched to gnome(that start menu,i'm using it on desktop.not tablet).Again used it for 30min & switched to cinnamon.
Cinnamon has no issue except when i wanted to slideshow background & added my wallpaper directory with 6000+ background,it freezed.
So when ever i open background in cinnamon setting ,that was the issue.SO used it for 2 day.

Then i read about gnome classic,thought gave gnome another try & switched to gnome classic.Still couldn't accept those start menu(win 10 style) , 2 panel in top & bottom.
& in the process i deleted cinnamon setting in my home directory.(".cinnamon" in ".config" & in '/home/my_user" directory".

So again when i switched to cinnamon,all apps previously intalled seems missing (shortcuts in cinnamon menu).
If i reinstall app,icons reappears.
But When i tried to reinstall all apps with following

pacman -Qq > package.list
pacman -S - < package.list

it didn't reinstall them saying package up to date.

So HOW to reinstall them??

& is there any way to remove kde & gnome related app that cinnamon don't use?
Hereis the package list
http://pastebin.com/YiUr7sMp

#2 2016-07-17 18:18:17

dockland

Re: DE switch Question

addicted wrote:

Hi, I'm new to Linux.Used Mint & Ubuntu for 2 Month & switched to Arch.

After installation of Arch,i installed KDE.
used it for 30 min (slow startup,except dolphine nothing i liked there) & switched to gnome(that start menu,i'm using it on desktop.not tablet).Again used it for 30min & switched to cinnamon.
Cinnamon has no issue except when i wanted to slideshow background & added my wallpaper directory with 6000+ background,it freezed.
So when ever i open background in cinnamon setting ,that was the issue.SO used it for 2 day.