You are not logged in.

#1 2016-09-25 12:44:29

sstkw25

[SOLVED] Migrate appearance and settings from User1 to User2; XFCE

Hello everyone!

I have been using Arch Linux for three months now, as the single user (User1) of the laptop I have. Now I want to add another user (User2), already did it indeed.

I only have the XFCE desktop environment, and I have set up many customizations, to make it fit my needs and taste.

When using the User2, I want it to look it exactly the same as User1. I have tried copying all the files from.

/home/User1/.config to /home/User2/.config

Eventually I copied every hidden folder assuming they are configuration files.

It didn't work and I thought it was a permission problem. I logged in as ROOT and change the files in /home/User2/.config to have the owner User2:users.

But it still didn't work completely. I got the correct configuration of Thunar (added user actions), for example, but the whole appearance of the desktop was the default one.

I have been looking for a solution for the last 3 hours, and didn't find any. I cannot find where the configuration files for XFCE are. I tried making a change in the theme, and look for a file modified at that time, but didn't find any.

So, I hope anyone can give me a hand here.

Thank you very much in advance.

Regards!

Last edited by sstkw25 (2016-09-29 19:09:39)

#2 2016-09-25 14:54:15

onslow77

Re: [SOLVED] Migrate appearance and settings from User1 to User2; XFCE

sstkw25 wrote:

I have been looking for a solution for the last 3 hours, and didn't find any. I cannot find where the configuration files for XFCE are. I tried making a change in the theme, and look for a file modified at that time, but didn't find any.

Hello!

Please read the Xfce wiki page and look under the configuration section!