You are not logged in.

#1 2016-10-15 04:06:57

frank604

[Solved] General linux best-practices with makefile

I was in the #archlinux irc a few weeks ago and recommended to compile dwm via the provided makefile, and using

sudo make clean install

The makefile points to /usr/local/bin/dwm so sudo is required.

This was frowned upon by quite a few people and I admit, I am quite new to compiling and directory placement for the program.  I've asked for a reason but this request fell on deaf ears.  I am curious and always look to further my knowledge with linux.  Googling 'best practices makefile' only results in the technicalities of library modules, tips on wildcards, etc. 

My assumption is to avoid installing into root and instead point installation directory to a user owned directory such as ~/bin but nothing really solid is coming through in my search.

Links or your opinion on 'best practices for makefile' are very welcome.

edit: truncated title to fit solved tag

Last edited by frank604 (2016-10-15 07:30:15)

#2 2016-10-15 04:31:04

oliver

Re: [Solved] General linux best-practices with makefile

Could the folks in the Arch IRC be recommending you don't go outside pacman (or ABS/AUR) rather than balking at your specific binary location?

#3 2016-10-15 04:38:08

jasonwryan
Anarchist
Website

For a tiny, discrete binary like dwm, I have no problem with

make && sudo make install

Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

#4 2016-10-15 05:28:03

basica

I'm not really understanding what you're getting at. If you simply want to install it elsewhere then just modify the prefix to something you prefer. So if it's by default /usr/local and you decided you want it in ~/dwm (or whatever) just modify it accordingly. Then you can do a make install without root access, and without it installing it in a global directory.