You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-10 03:26:49

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Wine on 64bit Arch?

As the title implies, has anyone successfully installed Wine on 64bit Arch?

Offline

#2 2006-08-10 03:46:19

omgwtfbyobbq
Member
Registered: 2006-07-04
Posts: 226

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

You should be able to, iirc there are plenty of threads on the Gentoo forums about 64bit wine. Or this could just be in my head?  :shock:

Offline

#3 2006-08-10 03:54:54

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

Certainly it can be done. There's a tutorial on how to set it up under Ubuntu on Wine's start page. And others for Gentoo, Fedora, and Suse have all been posted around the web. I really want to know that if anyone has done it, is it functioning properly? The main show stopper for me switching over to 64bit right now is that I need the PSPI plug-in for Gimp running, and it needs Wine to function.

Offline

#4 2006-08-12 01:09:37

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

http://wiki.winehq.org/WineOn64bit

This is a link to that page. It includes a lot of info about various builds for various linux 64 bit flavours. On a quick read, it looks hopeful.

When I've got some time, I'll have a go at a PKGBUILD -- that is if someone doesn't beat me to it first!

Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#5 2006-08-12 02:19:57

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

Thanks for the link gs.

I surrendered and re-installed 64bit Arch. Seems too much like a waste not to utilize my new X2 3800+ chip with 2GB DDR2 Ram. So I may also give it a go in the next couple of days.

Offline

#6 2006-08-13 02:02:58

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

I have had that closer look. There is a lot of detail involving 32bit libraries.

AndyRTR does not want to build arch64 so that it runs on such libraries. There is a lot of virtue in this purism, when you see other distros with gunk all over the place.

Wine maybe a bit different, however, in that it -- since it is for running win32 -- it may be justifiable. Moreover, it would be his decision also where these libraries would be placed in the directory system.

So, for the moment, I defer.

Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#7 2006-08-13 04:19:54

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

I'm in the process of figuring out how to build it.

The section that used to be here has been edited out. It's useless now.

I know that I don't have OpenGL support here. I simply wanted to see if config worked before I got into a full package build.

Offline

#8 2006-08-13 04:30:49

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

I think you will need to wait for AndyRTR to reply. The 32 bit stuff would need to be installed into special library folders.

That could be /usr/lib32, but the entire emulation thing seems more subtle. Certainly, gentoo uses a bespoke directory structure.

Then, if that is agreed to, wine would need to build using those bespokes directories. Complicated, huh?

It's not that any of this is impossible. It is that arch64 is felt to be a true 64 bit distro, and not one of those clunky hybrids!

So, it is best to get the policy matters sorted, first.

Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#9 2006-08-13 04:34:03

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

Again, I'm trying to build it. Like you, I don't want a hack; I want a pure 64 bit build. I'm hoping that maybe a could help advance Arch a little bit.

Offline

#10 2006-08-13 04:54:17

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

My reading of that wine 64-bit-build page is that, although wine can be compiled as a 64 bit build, 32 bit libraries are needed. Because wine is primarily for running windows 32 bit apps, that makes sense -- doesn't it?

For several reasons, those 32 bit libraries (and maybe some other dependencies) have to be physically separate. Primarily, they have to be such that the compiled wine knows where they can be found and, also, created so that they can't be called in error by other applications.

This is definitely a clunkiness and a philosophical issue. Do you see what I mean?

So we have to wait for AndyRTR. Maybe he will agree, but I am sure that he would want a suitably tidy form of nomencleature for every-32-bit-thing that gets used, even if he does buy it.

The dependency packages would have to be specially rebuilt; and it would only be sensible to embark on that after some discussion and approval.

Sorry, if I seem to be pouring cold water; but this would be all a fairly big undertaking. There would inevitably be bugs on the way, so some combined effort would be most advisable.


Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#11 2006-08-13 05:36:11

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

gs wrote:

Sorry, if I seem to be pouring cold water; but this would be all a fairly big undertaking. There would inevitably be bugs on the way, so some combined effort would be most advisable.

No apology neccessary. You are correct on all levels. All of my work up until this point has proven this.

It's just kind of a drag... I need either Wine to function or another solution to run Photoshop filters under Gimp as soon as possible. It's a big enough deal to warrent returning to 32 bit until a "cure" is found. I'm so happy with the system performance of 64 bit Arch that returning is just going to suck. Oh well, as you said, this is a large undertaking.

Thanks for taking to time to communicate.

Offline

#12 2006-08-13 06:38:10

karsten
Member
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 261

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

what about just installing wine in a chroot environment? i've been working on getting that set up for the folding@home client as they only have a 32-bit binary, and was thinking that might be the best solution for wine as well, wouldn't it? better than cludging up a multilib arch64 at least.  yuck :-/

Offline

#13 2006-08-13 19:13:00

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

Chrooting is certainly an option, and I'll have a go at that.

Also, I just remebered where AndyRTR had set out his non-multilib policy. It's in the arch wiki pages, at:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arc … _Arch64.3F

Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#14 2006-08-13 19:18:10

karsten
Member
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 261

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

gs wrote:

Chrooting is certainly an option, and I'll have a go at that.

Also, I just remebered where AndyRTR had set out his non-multilib policy. It's in the arch wiki pages, at:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arc … _Arch64.3F

Geoff

yeah that's what i was thinking.  what about stating in a wine64 package a requirement of a working 32-bit arch install, and then once that is detected, the mount commands are all set up automatically by the wine package?

Offline

#15 2006-08-13 20:01:33

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,638

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

gs wrote:

Also, I just remebered where AndyRTR had set out his non-multilib policy. It's in the arch wiki pages, at:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arc … _Arch64.3F

The Wiki is open. Not every entry is done by myself ;-)

I still prefer to pure 64bit way. Nothing else will go to the official repos. You all can play in the community repo/AUR to get these things working. But do it in a way that not breaking the official packages :!:  Though I will try to help you all where I can.

Offline

#16 2006-08-13 22:14:21

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

Hey AndyRTR,

In your opinion is it even possible to build the current Wine on 64 bit and have 32 bit binaries function? The more I think about it, the more it feels like that there would have to be a fairly significant amount of Wine that would need to be recoded.

With the other way, there is a cool side effect to having a 32 bit chroot environment for Arch. Not only could Wine run, but commercial stuff that may never have a 64 bit counterpart (Skype comes to mind) could function. I'd rather skip all of that kind of stuff like Skype, but at the moment I use it.

Offline

#17 2006-08-13 22:18:09

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

Thanks AndyRTR.

I have noticed in the nspluginwrapper thread that we have ia32-libs-gtk and ia32-libs within an aurbuild.

Could this be one useful starting point for considering developing a debian type build, as referenced at http://wiki.winehq.org/WineOn64bit ?

Maybe this configure line for debian

configure `--prefix=/emul/ia32-linux/usr --x-libraries=/emul/ia32-linux/usr/X11R6/lib`

should be rewritten as
configure

configure `--prefix=/usr --x-libraries=/usr/lib32`

There is stuff I haven't thought through yet, but does this look as though it might lead somewhere useful?

Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#18 2006-08-14 11:25:18

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

I have been exploring the chroot methodology.

At the final command stage, I get this.

[gs@myhost /]$ wine '/home/gs/c/Program Files/Internet Explorer/IEXPLORE.EXE'
fixme:wgl:X11DRV_setup_opengl_visual Failed to find a suitable visual
fixme:shdocvw:IEWinMain "" 1
fixme:wgl:X11DRV_setup_opengl_visual Failed to find a suitable visual
fixme:ole:CoResumeClassObjects stub
Fatal: no entropy gathering module detected

Presumably, I need the egd daemon available and running. But what is the issue?

Thanks

Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#19 2006-08-14 21:10:50

karsten
Member
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 261

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

dude start with something simple like notepad or calculator, iexplore can be a beast even under good circumstances..

Offline

#20 2006-08-15 01:34:46

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

Solved it. AndyRTR set out a set of belt and braces bindings at:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arc … _Arch64.3F

I added them to /etc/rc.local (as per his suggestion, there)

So, I've even got openoffice running.

The point is that it is now time to see if I can feel comfortable doing things the chroot way.  lol

Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#21 2006-08-15 02:55:11

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

So yes, I have had a play around; and it seems to work fine. I have done as follows:

1) key bindings called in /etc/rc.local, as above

2) Made kde link to application called ChrootStuff. Stated application as: xhost +localhost; sudo chroot /mnt/sda5_arch32. Marked Advanced Options as: Run in Terminal and Do not Close when command exits.

3) This gives me a predertimed shell, so as I can do things like:

su gs
ekiga
-----
su gs
/home/gs/bin/ie6
(This proves the better way of running that crap browser!)

How's that for streamlining? I have a little cheat sheet for the the more novel commands: eg /home/gs/wengohone/wengophone.sh.

Geoff


What the beep was that?

Offline

#22 2006-08-15 04:29:26

karsten
Member
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 261

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

gs wrote:

su gs
/home/gs/bin/ie6

any hints for getting ie6 installed under wine? do you have to install a 32-bit copy of xorg and all that crap? i tried running ie6setup.exe and got this:

$ wine ie6*
wine: creating configuration directory '/home/karsten/.wine'...
Wine cannot find the FreeType font library.  To enable Wine to
use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
or equal to 2.0.5.
http://www.freetype.org
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

Wine cannot find the FreeType font library.  To enable Wine to
use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
or equal to 2.0.5.
http://www.freetype.org
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.
Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.
err:imagelist:ImageList_ReplaceIcon no color!

edit-- HAHA nevermind-- was looking for .xauthority to copy over to the new ~ dir instead of .Xauthority smile doh

Offline

#23 2006-08-15 06:15:36

karsten
Member
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 261

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

hey i just get a blank white window for ie6 even after that mshtml gecko update.. did you get that?

nm, found out about ies4linux

Offline

#24 2006-08-15 12:04:46

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

Yes, I'm sorry I did get a blank screen for ie6 (I didn't test it out. Doh!). And it works OK in the arch32 environment.

I can get firefox by chroot, though. I have not tried ies4linux, yet. I used an older wine install script.


What the beep was that?

Offline

#25 2006-08-15 13:06:18

gs
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2004-03-06
Posts: 147

Re: Wine on 64bit Arch?

I have tried ies4linux. As before, I get the full ie6 but the internet access is not working; so I cannot open a url. But it functions fully within arch32.

Since other browsers work, this maybe may be an issue concerning the autodetect scripts within the LAN Settings options within the Connections Tab of Internet Settings.

My guess would be that, whereas this is coped with when it is run within it's native X-Window, perhaps it is asking too much for it to run properly in a chrooted setup.

I have also tried putting my ip address in manually (having obtained it from ifconfog). But to no avail!

Geoff

Fortunately for me I can live without m$ ie.


What the beep was that?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB