You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-04 10:14:48

jaideep_jdof
Member
From: Delhi, India
Registered: 2006-06-05
Posts: 311

system tray for DWM & WMII[Solved]

Is it possible to add a system tray to DWM or WMII, of yes then please tell me how.

Last edited by jaideep_jdof (2007-08-04 14:07:51)

Offline

#2 2007-08-04 10:50:31

mucknert
Member
From: Berlin // Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 510

Re: system tray for DWM & WMII[Solved]

I don't think that a Systray is within the specifications of those Windowmanagers. You could try out something like trayer in floating-mode though.


Todays mistakes are tomorrows catastrophes.

Offline

#3 2007-08-04 12:04:15

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: system tray for DWM & WMII[Solved]

trayer --expand true --widthtype request --transparent true --alpha 255 --edge top --align right &

That's an app trayer, mentioned above. That command line starts it transparent so it's fairly unobtrusive, and it expands only as needed. You can change the location with the edge and align commands.

Offline

#4 2007-08-04 14:07:32

jaideep_jdof
Member
From: Delhi, India
Registered: 2006-06-05
Posts: 311

Re: system tray for DWM & WMII[Solved]

thank a lot for the help.

Offline

#5 2008-04-21 03:09:55

brncmp
Member
Registered: 2008-02-29
Posts: 21

Re: system tray for DWM & WMII[Solved]

yes this nice but how do you keep it below other windows?

brncmp

Offline

#6 2008-04-21 04:04:07

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

Re: system tray for DWM & WMII[Solved]

Well I can only speak for dwm. Pipe information from your .xinitrc directly into the "bar" of dwm....


Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#7 2009-02-17 10:41:15

cercasi2
Member
From: Kreuzberg 61
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 6

Re: system tray for DWM & WMII[Solved]

Although this is solved (and old)....

Has anybody tried this with nm-applet in dwm? I'd like to use nm-applet because it also allows me to choose my 3g connection easily.

Can I just:

.xinitrc

trayer [options....] &
nm-applet &

[stuff] | dwm

thanks ;-)

EDIT: it worked with

.xinitrc

(sleep 1 && /usr/bin/ck-launch-session) &  # do this before nm-applet... I don't know why
/usr/bin/stalonetray --geometry 16x16+150-586 --icon-size 16 &
(sleep 2 && /usr/bin/nm-applet) &
conky -c /home/seb/.conky-dwm | while true; do /usr/bin/dwm > /dev/null; done;

Last edited by cercasi2 (2009-02-18 13:44:07)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB