You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-03 05:27:54

zapyourit

Diving into Tiling WMs, Help Appreciated

Hello again.

I'm taking the leap and checking out some tiling WMs. I've never used any before and I would like some guidance as I'm very used to Gnome/Xfce/Fluxbox and how those work/are setup.

I've looked over some of the other threads, but I have some questions of my own about tiling WMs.
First off, I currently have about a handful installed: awesome, xmonad (which seems to refuse to start), wmii, musca, and ion3. I'm pretty much completely overwhelmed when entering all of them and get lost pretty quick. I'm looking for something extensible but easy to pick up and go with. I like having a systray and panel of some kind, but they can be minimal and I've heard of more than I thought was possible about simple stand-ins that do these jobs pretty well.

I guess my questions are as follows: which do you think would be the easiest to become accustomed to and use efficiently until I become accustomed? What types of configuration do you use in your choice of WM (as in which systray or no systray at all, etc)? And what programs would you recommend for a simple terminal, a music player (currently using Exaile, which is wonderful by the way), and instant messaging application (currently using Pidgin)?

Furthermore, for those of you using xmonad, I can't login because it's not finding the .xmonad folder in my home folder which includes the executable "xmonad-i386-linux" file (if I remember the error correctly). Any ideas on how to solve this or what I did wrong??

Thanks again for all your help.

#2 2009-04-03 06:02:38

Wra!th

Re: Diving into Tiling WMs, Help Appreciated

For xmonad: create the .xmonad folder yourself, and put a xmonad.hs (xmonad's config file) in there. Xmonad looks for that file and compiles it at runtime, and you're left with that "xmonad-i386-linux" that you're missing.