You are not logged in.

#1 2009-07-05 06:17:21

cojack
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 25
Website

Kde 4.3 Rc1

Hello guys,
Some one have time to compile this package and add it to testing?
And please, if you will compile it, compile with flag full-debug. It'll be more flexible, and helpfull with reporting a bug for kde developers.

http://kde.org/announcements/announce-4.3-rc1.php

Best regards.

Last edited by cojack (2009-07-05 06:18:41)

Offline

#2 2009-07-05 06:21:00

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,329
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

There is the kde-unstable repo.  I guess it will be updated to rc1 soon (if not already?)

Offline

#3 2009-07-05 09:39:50

cojack
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 25
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

Can you give me the link? There is any how to install it?

Offline

#4 2009-07-05 09:53:10

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,329
Website

Offline

#5 2009-07-05 09:54:38

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

cojack wrote:

Can you give me the link? There is any how to install it?

from newsletter:

[kde-unstable]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

how to install: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE_Packages


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#6 2009-07-05 10:16:56

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

Please note that you'll need testing repo and you should know how to use it.

Offline

#7 2009-07-09 05:13:55

cojack
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 25
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

I has spend all my yesterday to install this repo, and resolving many problems... And newer again install anything out of core, extra, community...

Offline

#8 2009-07-09 07:44:35

Solid1986Snake
Member
Registered: 2007-06-18
Posts: 258

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

cojack wrote:

I has spend all my yesterday to install this repo, and resolving many problems... And newer again install anything out of core, extra, community...

Lesson learned wink

But its a good feeling when its running wink

Offline

#9 2009-07-09 09:57:44

Pyntux
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 261

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

OK, try kdemod-testing, is much better... wink


I do not speak English, but I understand...

Offline

#10 2009-07-22 18:00:19

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#11 2009-07-22 20:50:01

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 676
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

It has been asked many times, but I have never seen an answer from the developers: why are the KDE packages in [kde-unstable] not built with debug information? Creating our own PKGBUILDs and recompiling them seems like an unnessessary complication for reporting bugs, given that it is a testing repository.

Offline

#12 2009-07-22 21:09:41

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

mutlu_inek wrote:

It has been asked many times, but I have never seen an answer from the developers: why are the KDE packages in [kde-unstable] not built with debug information?

to name a few:
- packages increase dramatically in size
- compilation time increases quite a bit
- backtraces are not that useful as packages linked to in the normal repos don't have debug info

Offline

#13 2009-07-22 21:18:00

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

One of the developers said that the packages began to be very big with debug info.

Nevertheless, it's almost final, the debug info is much useful when we use early pre-alpha,alpha,beta versions (between 4.x.6x and 4.x.8x)

Offline

#14 2009-07-23 12:30:12

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 676
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

pressh wrote:
mutlu_inek wrote:

It has been asked many times, but I have never seen an answer from the developers: why are the KDE packages in [kde-unstable] not built with debug information?

to name a few:
- packages increase dramatically in size
- compilation time increases quite a bit
- backtraces are not that useful as packages linked to in the normal repos don't have debug info

Thank you for the response. Given that few people use the testing repos, I think the first two points are not that important, but I might be wrong. The last point is, of course, an issue. I just wish we had separate debug packages in Arch.

Offline

#15 2009-07-23 12:48:34

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

Well, for me the first two points are important, too. The packages are not meant to debug KDE in the first place but testing the new split system, db-scritps etc..

Offline

#16 2009-07-23 12:59:01

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,329
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

One day I might implement this bug: http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/10975 .  Then we could have separate debug symbol packages.

Offline

#17 2009-07-23 19:49:33

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

I would like a kde-base-meta package which just installs the kde essentials in order to have kdm, kicker, konqueror and dolphin for instance.. just like in gentoo xxD

Offline

#18 2009-07-23 20:18:05

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

I was going to say kde-meta-kdebase, but it does not include kdebase-workspace...
ah well, installing kde-meta-kdebase and kdebase-workspace seems to be enough to get a basic instlall so it's still not very much to type ;-)

Offline

#19 2009-07-23 20:33:07

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

kdebase-workspace is the most minimal workspace you can get. Everything else is optional. And please not the difference between the meta packages and groups: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE_Packages

Offline

#20 2009-07-24 11:14:18

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

Pierre wrote:

kdebase-workspace is the most minimal workspace you can get. Everything else is optional. And please not the difference between the meta packages and groups: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE_Packages

That group thing does not work for me. If I just pacman -S kdeedu, it install stuff from extra. If I do pacman -S kde-unstable/kdeedu, I get this:

warning: provider package was selected (kde-meta-kdeedu provides kdeedu)

Maybe it works when I disable [extra] and then do a pacman -S kdeedu, but this way now it just does not work.

Edit: before someone asks: My repo order in pacman.conf is kde-unstable, testing, core, extra, community.

Last edited by buddabrod (2009-07-24 11:16:00)

Offline

#21 2009-07-24 11:29:44

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

pacman cannot handle this (yet). So you have to wait until KDE 4.3 is in extra.

Offline

#22 2009-07-24 23:13:32

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 676
Website

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

Allan wrote:

One day I might implement this bug: http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/10975 .  Then we could have separate debug symbol packages.

You'd be my hero. smile

Offline

#23 2009-07-25 20:50:26

banshee28
Member
Registered: 2008-10-18
Posts: 324

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

Pierre wrote:

kdebase-workspace is the most minimal workspace you can get. Everything else is optional. And please not the difference between the meta packages and groups: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE_Packages

I know this is in its very early stages, but can anyone tell me approximately how the most minimal kde (kdebase-workspace) would compare to something like xfce? It sounds like with this new ability to start with the minimum and add packages as needed it will be much lighter than before. Just trying to get an idea before I tired it out. Not sure if it would be as quick as something like xfce?


Arch64, AMD64, LXDE

Offline

#24 2009-07-27 18:04:23

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

banshee28 wrote:
Pierre wrote:

kdebase-workspace is the most minimal workspace you can get. Everything else is optional. And please not the difference between the meta packages and groups: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE_Packages

I know this is in its very early stages, but can anyone tell me approximately how the most minimal kde (kdebase-workspace) would compare to something like xfce? It sounds like with this new ability to start with the minimum and add packages as needed it will be much lighter than before. Just trying to get an idea before I tired it out. Not sure if it would be as quick as something like xfce?

I think you are misunderstanding the thing... You always have a full kde running like always, the only thing that's changed is that you dont need to install the full meta packages at all times. If you want marble for isntance, you just install marble and not the complete kdeedu package.

The running kde is still the same as always. Plasma still consumes the same amount of ram and still needs the same cpu time. The only difference is the lowered disk usage..

So light-weight DE's still have their right to exist tongue

Offline

#25 2009-07-27 22:54:23

banshee28
Member
Registered: 2008-10-18
Posts: 324

Re: Kde 4.3 Rc1

buddabrod wrote:

I think you are misunderstanding the thing... You always have a full kde running like always, the only thing that's changed is that you dont need to install the full meta packages at all times. If you want marble for isntance, you just install marble and not the complete kdeedu package.

The running kde is still the same as always. Plasma still consumes the same amount of ram and still needs the same cpu time. The only difference is the lowered disk usage..

So light-weight DE's still have their right to exist tongue

Ah, I see ...Thanks   cool


Arch64, AMD64, LXDE

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB