You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-06 21:45:15

oskarn

Multi-head useful or useless with tiling WMs?

I'm under the impression that the reason most people prefer multi-head is because they wish to easily have windows side-by-side maximized. In my opinion, a preferable monitor size and a tiling WM render multi-heads useless. Am I wrong? Please discuss.

Last edited by oskarn (2009-08-06 21:49:46)

#2 2009-08-06 22:38:19

mikesd
Website

Re: Multi-head useful or useless with tiling WMs?

I have been using dual 1680x1050s in xmonad for the past 12 months or so. Even with a tiling wm I still find it useful. I'll often dedicate one monitor to firefox or a set of 4 urxvts or gimp or inkscape or a log viewer.

Dual monitors give me more screen real estate than one. Therefore I can view more applications. xmonad works well with dual monitors though it is a little different to other tiling WMs. In xmonad I have 6 desktops and with two monitors I can view any two of those desktops. I tend to think in groups of windows rather than individual windows.

#3 2009-08-06 22:49:23

oskarn

Your dual 1680x1050 is a great example. If you replace your dual monitors with one 30" 2560x1600 you have the same screen real estate (even larger). Thus enabling you to view the same applications simultanenously.

Forget the fact that a 30" monitor is probably more expensive. I'm just curious if multiple monitors have any productivity gain as opposed to a larger monitor.

Last edited by oskarn (2009-08-06 22:51:52)

#4 2009-08-06 22:57:58

thayer
Fellow
Website

oskarn wrote:

I'm under the impression that the reason most people prefer multi-head is because they wish to easily have windows side-by-side maximized. In my opinion, a preferable monitor size and a tiling WM render multi-heads useless. Am I wrong? Please discuss.

Hrm, wouldn't two "preferable" monitors always be better than one?  That's just common sense to me.

oskarn wrote: