You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-09 16:36:27

Jankosevic
Member
Registered: 2008-07-06
Posts: 82

[SOLVED] No sound after update

Hello Arch-Community,

unfortunately my sound (neither Speakers nor Mic) is not working anymore on my machine. Yesterday evening was everything fine, but I guess after todays update something must have happened.
Unfortunately I don't know which kind of information I should provide you in order to describe my problem.

Maybe this as a start:

lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

I hope you can assist me in finding a solution?
Thx a lot!

Last edited by Jankosevic (2011-11-15 22:32:14)

Offline

#2 2011-11-09 16:38:59

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,431

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

Any errors in the logs?

Offline

#3 2011-11-09 16:39:29

Earnestly
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Posts: 805

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

Does

amixer set Master 85% unmute

Do anything for you?

Also, have you checked alsamixer for any muted channels, etc?

Edit: The recent update seems to have replaced 'Master Front' with just 'Master' within alsamixer for the snd-hda-intel module. ( https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=129967 ) This might be causing the issue for you.

Last edited by Earnestly (2011-11-09 16:43:04)

Offline

#4 2011-11-09 16:44:34

Jankosevic
Member
Registered: 2008-07-06
Posts: 82

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

Kaustic wrote:

Does

amixer set Master 85% unmute

Do anything for you?

Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65536
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 55706 [85%] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 55706 [85%] [on]

Unfortunately still no sound.

I checked dmesg and the last two line say:
[ 2108.719159] azx_single_send_cmd: 3 callbacks suppressed
[ 2108.719165] hda-codec: out of range cmd 0:0:5:707:ffffffbf

No Channels in alsamixer are muted or whatsoever. Hmm I am using Gnome and everything regarding sound worked always fine.

Last edited by Jankosevic (2011-11-09 16:48:26)

Offline

#5 2011-11-09 17:44:21

Shark
Member
From: /dev/zero
Registered: 2011-02-28
Posts: 663

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

Run alsaconf and see if it works.

Last edited by Shark (2011-11-09 17:47:51)


If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.
Henry David Thoreau

Registered Linux User: #559057

Offline

#6 2011-11-09 18:12:02

Jankosevic
Member
Registered: 2008-07-06
Posts: 82

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

No. Did not help either.

However, I noticed that the sound is surprisingly working in flash on websites!

Offline

#7 2011-11-09 18:14:26

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,431

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

Jankosevic wrote:

No. Did not help either.

However, I noticed that the sound is surprisingly working in flash on websites!

Check if your sound modules being loaded.

Offline

#8 2011-11-09 19:05:55

Jankosevic
Member
Registered: 2008-07-06
Posts: 82

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

karol wrote:
Jankosevic wrote:

No. Did not help either.

However, I noticed that the sound is surprisingly working in flash on websites!

Check if your sound modules being loaded.

How do I do that?

Approach from here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad … are_loaded

lsmod|grep '^snd' | column -t
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     22757   4
snd_hda_codec_realtek  282024  1
snd_hda_intel          22410   2
snd_hda_codec          80889   3   snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep              6357    1   snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                74304   4   snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              19544   1   snd_pcm
snd                    58362   10  snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc         7153    2   snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ls /dev/snd
by-path    controlC1  hwC1D0  hwC1D2  pcmC0D0c	pcmC0D2c  pcmC1D7p  pcmC1D9p  timer
controlC0  hwC0D0     hwC1D1  hwC1D3  pcmC0D0p	pcmC1D3p  pcmC1D8p  seq

So everything is there at least?

My modules.conf looks like that:

# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF version 1.0.24.2 ---
alias char-major-116 snd
alias char-major-14 snd
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---

Last edited by Jankosevic (2011-11-09 19:06:35)

Offline

#9 2011-11-10 18:30:23

pigiron
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2009-07-14
Posts: 135

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

ls /dev/snd
by-path  controlC1  hwC1D0  hwC1D2  pcmC0D0c  pcmC0D2c  pcmC1D7p  pcmC1D9p  timer  controlC0  hwC0D0  hwC1D1  hwC1D3  pcmC0D0p  pcmC1D3p  pcmC1D8p  seq

Wow! That shows that you have 2 capture devices (those that end with the letter "c"), and a whopping 5 playback devices (those that end with the letter "p") on your box.

So which one(s) is/are "not working"?

Since you don't mention if you're using gstreamer, PulseAudio, OSS, just plain ALSA, or something else to drive your sound... and the connections (HDMI TV speakers, speakers or stereo plugged into an audio jack, etc.) involved... along with which audio application(s) is/are "not working"... there's plenty of room for a confusion factor to totally cause this to take a quick turn straight into the ditch.

But here's some poor ALSA advice... at least it's free.

First, install the "alsa-utils" package.

Next run the aplay -l command to display all of your playback devices in some crazy English (or your native tongue). Use this to help determine which playback device you want to make the sound come out of.

and/or...

Run the speaker-test -c 2 -l 1 -D plughw:X,Y command one at a time for each playback device... where you replace the "X" with the Card Number (the number following the capital "C" in the ls command above... so in your case, it's "0" and "1")... and replace the "Y" with the Device Number (the number following the capital "D" in that ls command).

For example... to test the "pcmC1D7p" (Card 1, Device 7) playback device enter:

speaker-test -c 2 -l 1 -D plughw:1,7

If you've previously set up the Card Number correctly using the alsamixer command (unmuted the channels, raised the volume, etc.), then you should hear sound during one of those speaker-test runs. You do start the alsamixer command with the "-c" option (or use the F6 key within alsamixer) don't you?

After you've determined which Card and Device you wish to use (most of the time), and if you intend to just use ALSA to drive your sound, then read the ALSA wiki(s) on the Arch and other pages about setting up the ALSA "Default" device in an ALSA configuration file... or configure each of your sound applications with the sound device to use.

When all that's finished, see the arecord man page to fiddle around with your two capture (audio input) devices.

Also, since you have two sound cards, check the wiki(s) about how to set up "options snd slots=" in a /etc/modprobe.d/ configuration file so that the Card Numbers don't swap around on you between system boots.

One last thing; be aware that /etc/modules.conf is/has being/been depreciated in favor of /etc/modprobe.d/*.conf files. See the "modprobe.conf" man page.

Or... you can simply ignore this post.

Last edited by pigiron (2011-11-10 18:53:00)

Offline

#10 2011-11-11 11:00:43

delaerep
Member
Registered: 2011-07-21
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

I could restore sound by changing :
options snd_hda_intel model=auto
to
options snd_hda_intel model=asus-laptop
in /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf

there are other models possible, see alsa doc, but this one worked on my asus pundit p1-ah2

Offline

#11 2011-11-13 03:25:48

TheAmigo
Member
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 61

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

I have the same problem as Jankosevic.  My Dell Studio 1558 with a:

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 06)

Won't play sound through the built-in speakers anymore.  I haven't yet figured out which package broke it (not the kernel, becuase I have the same problem when I boot with my previous 3.1-rc6 one).

I did find that if I plug in headphones, I get sound there.  When I unplug them, the speakers start working.  I haven't done much testing yet so I don't know how long that workaround lasts (restarting pulseaudio? rebooting?).

Offline

#12 2011-11-15 22:31:51

Jankosevic
Member
Registered: 2008-07-06
Posts: 82

Re: [SOLVED] No sound after update

Thank you very much for all your help! smile

Howevery, after the last kernel update, the sound works again (strangely!?)
BTW: the speaker test works now with the device hwC0D0 using PulseAudio.
speaker-test -c 2 -l 1 -D plughw:0,0

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB