You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-23 00:25:00

Jerod
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 7

[SOLVED] mount as normal user

Hi guys.

I know, that this is not the first post for mounting devices as normal users but ...

Is some possibilities how to mount devices as normal users without consolekit? I have been using udiskie but it requires consolekit and I have problem with this daemon, besause is takes a lot of ram, so I want to ask you for some others ways how to mount devices.

Thanks for your patience smile

Last edited by Jerod (2012-01-24 17:10:33)

Offline

#2 2012-01-23 00:27:45

/dev/zero
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 1,176
Website

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

A naive solution could be to create a group called "mounters", add your user(s) to it, and edit sudoers to permit the mounters group to use mount and umount. I say naive because of the ramifications involved in letting potentially multiple users all have control over multiple devices being mounted to arbitrary locations.


Linux is NOT Windows | The Rootless Root
Toshiba Satellite i5-3230M 2.6GHz CPUs, 4Gb RAM, ArchLinux, wmii, nVidia GeForce GT 740M.

Offline

#3 2012-01-23 00:35:53

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,199
Website

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

Have you checked out pmount?

It has worked wonderfully for me.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#4 2012-01-23 00:54:39

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

You can use udiskie (or similar) without consolekit if you create the pkla file:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ud … rage_group

Offline

#5 2012-01-23 01:16:17

Jerod
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

anonymous_user wrote:

You can use udiskie (or similar) without consolekit if you create the pkla file:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ud … rage_group

I still have pkla file, but if I start openbox without ck-launch-session udiskie is not working any more.

Offline

#6 2012-01-23 01:59:52

Wittfella
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-05-27
Posts: 462

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

I have never used consolekit or any of those udisk/udiskie/devmon wrappers and things mount automatically for me fine just using the basic udev rules.  I just took the first example listed in the udev wiki and it works flawlessly.

Offline

#7 2012-01-23 02:05:49

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,456

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

Jerod wrote:

mount devices as normal users

See mount options.

gid=100.

And in /etc/group:
users:x:100:

Offline

#8 2012-01-23 03:41:56

6msj
Member
Registered: 2011-10-03
Posts: 42

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

Wittfella wrote:

I have never used consolekit or any of those udisk/udiskie/devmon wrappers and things mount automatically for me fine just using the basic udev rules.  I just took the first example listed in the udev wiki and it works flawlessly.

+1

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ud … SB_devices

Pick one and use it, should work like a charm.

Offline

#9 2012-01-23 14:37:10

Jerod
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

Thak you guys.  I'm sorry, I didn't read wiki carefully.

Please mark as SOLVED.

Last edited by Jerod (2012-01-23 14:40:01)

Offline

#10 2012-01-23 15:03:55

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,574

Re: [SOLVED] mount as normal user

Jerod wrote:

Please mark as SOLVED.

You have to mark it yourself. The directions are here (and in the wiki): https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=130309


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB