You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-19 06:19:18

nap
Member
Registered: 2012-03-19
Posts: 1

What is the Arch equivalent to netstat?

I want to use the netstat command like this 'netstat -an | grep LISTEN' to find out what processes are listening to incoming connections.  But there is no netstat on my system.  Is there a way to install it or is the proper way to use a different command?

Offline

#2 2012-03-19 06:23:48

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,321

Re: What is the Arch equivalent to netstat?

Install net-tools

$ pkgfile netstat
core/net-tools

Last edited by skunktrader (2012-03-19 06:24:12)

Offline

#3 2012-03-19 07:26:18

ldvx
Member
Registered: 2007-01-02
Posts: 33

Re: What is the Arch equivalent to netstat?

Some apps were deleted for these reasons:
http://www.archlinux.org/news/dropping- … s-support/
http://www.archlinux.org/news/deprecation-of-net-tools/

As you were told, you can install net-tools to get netstat back. Also, you can use the program that comes by default through the package iproute2; ss.

Last edited by ldvx (2012-03-19 07:28:39)

Offline

#4 2012-03-19 07:41:02

Gcool
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 1,456

Re: What is the Arch equivalent to netstat?

Couple of replacements I can think of:

netstat --> ss
netstat -r --> ip route
netstat -i --> ip -s link
netstat -g --> ip maddr.


Burninate!

Offline

#5 2012-03-19 14:51:00

kazimir
Member
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 55

Re: What is the Arch equivalent to netstat?

Netstat and the net-tools suite have been deprecated for quite some time now, it has been replaced by the iproute2 set of tools.

Read this to learn about the replacement commands.

Offline

#6 2012-03-20 03:57:09

smudge
Member
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 137

Re: What is the Arch equivalent to netstat?

ss -tuna

is quite memorable smile

Offline

#7 2012-03-20 12:06:28

mikesd
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-02-01
Posts: 785
Website

Re: What is the Arch equivalent to netstat?

I had no idea the ss command existed. On my boxen ss is an alias to 'sudo shutdown -h now'. Will have to change that. smile

Offline

#8 2012-03-20 13:37:18

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: What is the Arch equivalent to netstat?

mikesd wrote:

I had no idea the ss command existed. On my boxen ss is an alias to 'sudo shutdown -h now'. Will have to change that. smile

I mapped "bye" to that. wink


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB