You are not logged in.

#26 2012-05-20 08:13:55

Evert7
Member
From: Lier, Belgium
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 63
Website

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

vaidotas203 wrote:
Evert7 wrote:

I think I can do that with Ark...

I did that with Windows tools, the disk is bootable, but when I select entry I get error:

 losetup: failed to setup loop device: no such file or directory 

I think (again smile ) that it might be an issue with the squashfs, I did some slightly changes on the fs too (installed zsh) but when I compare those files, original is 490 Mb or so, modified is 520 Mb ...
I'll take a look at it.


Website: evertheylen.appspot.com (new!)

Offline

#27 2012-05-20 08:16:12

vaidotas203
Member
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 31

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

Evert7 wrote:
vaidotas203 wrote:
Evert7 wrote:

I think I can do that with Ark...

I did that with Windows tools, the disk is bootable, but when I select entry I get error:

 losetup: failed to setup loop device: no such file or directory 

I think (again smile ) that it might be an issue with the squashfs, I did some slightly changes on the fs too (installed zsh) but when I compare those files, original is 490 Mb or so, modified is 520 Mb ...
I'll take a look at it.

Will wait for news smile
Mine is also bigger, although changes were really minimal, removed some software and installed some. In the end if not similar size, then lower there should by, but it was bigger and quite a lot. I know that it leaves downloaded packages in ~var/cache/pacman/pkg but still...

I wonder which folder I must to squash:
mksquashfs squashfs-root ROOT_IMAGE_FS.SFS
or
mksquashfs mount ROOT_IMAGE_FS.SFS

since one is original, but is altered while mounted
other is the real think, but squashing mount resulted in enormous size file, but error was the same.

Tried to play around with https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tr … oop_device

but with no changes, only noticed that /proc folder is empty

Last edited by vaidotas203 (2012-05-20 15:37:49)

Offline

#28 2012-05-21 00:00:39

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

I'm sure you've thought of this but would the instructions for customising some of the system/rescue linux cds out there be helpful? I'm sure I've seen instructions for doing this...

(I know that's not what you are trying to make but maybe the process for squashing everything etc. might be sufficiently similar?)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#29 2012-05-21 15:00:16

Evert7
Member
From: Lier, Belgium
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 63
Website

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

vaidotas203 wrote:

Tried to play around with https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tr … oop_device

but with no changes, only noticed that /proc folder is empty

I'm sorry, I haven't really done anything (school, homework, ...)
But the /proc folder is indeed empty, because it contains a lot of 'virtual' files, files that aren't there actually. I previously had some issues with making an archive of a chroot, because it couldn't zip the files in /proc . So I think it's quite normal for that folder to be empty.


Website: evertheylen.appspot.com (new!)

Offline

#30 2012-05-21 17:46:41

Evert7
Member
From: Lier, Belgium
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 63
Website

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

Try to locate the error by doing this steps:
-After mounting the fs, just chroot in it but do nothing, then build the iso and boot from it
-If the above fails, try just to unsquashfs and mksquashfs, then build the iso using the squashfs you just 'created' and boot from it
-If all of the above fails, try to 'replace' the squashfs in the iso with the original one, then boot from it.
-optional: Get rid of windows software tongue (just joking)

Please report at which step you fail.
PS: If you run out of CD's, you can use Virtualbox

Last edited by Evert7 (2012-05-21 19:21:09)


Website: evertheylen.appspot.com (new!)

Offline

#31 2012-05-21 20:59:50

vaidotas203
Member
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 31

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

Evert7 wrote:

Try to locate the error by doing this steps:
-After mounting the fs, just chroot in it but do nothing, then build the iso and boot from it
-If the above fails, try just to unsquashfs and mksquashfs, then build the iso using the squashfs you just 'created' and boot from it
-If all of the above fails, try to 'replace' the squashfs in the iso with the original one, then boot from it.
-optional: Get rid of windows software tongue (just joking)

Please report at which step you fail.
PS: If you run out of CD's, you can use Virtualbox

Thought about last optional step from the start big_smile but will test them all in few days

Offline

#32 2012-05-27 15:27:51

Evert7
Member
From: Lier, Belgium
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 63
Website

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

Did you try to use LZMA? ( pacman -S squashfs-tools-lzma )
Then do

mksquashfs.lzma .......

instead of

mksquashfs .......

edit: Try it as a last option.

Last edited by Evert7 (2012-05-28 15:32:08)


Website: evertheylen.appspot.com (new!)

Offline

#33 2012-05-28 23:02:23

vaidotas203
Member
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 31

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

Evert7 wrote:

Did you try to use LZMA? ( pacman -S squashfs-tools-lzma )
Then do

mksquashfs.lzma .......

instead of

mksquashfs .......

edit: Try it as a last option.

Okay major new results, the CD boots, now two problems left, but main one is:
Size of file - if I do

mksquashfs squashfs-root root-image.fs.sfs

it make file which I insert in to .iso, but the problem is that it makes file with "mount" and "root-image.fs" which results in file size x2 (but system boot with my changes). But if I go for one of it system does not boot, or end's up with error's at booting.

Tried to mksquashfs content of mount to root-image.fs then it to root-image.fs.sfs, tried to mksquashfs mount content straight to  root-image.fs.sfs.
Tried to mksquashfs root-image.fs which is in same directory.
All fails, but if I go for mksquashfs  both, everything is more or less okay

Any ideas?
Sorry for long miss, I was having exams in University.

Last edited by vaidotas203 (2012-05-28 23:15:27)

Offline

#34 2012-05-31 17:22:39

Evert7
Member
From: Lier, Belgium
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 63
Website

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

I don't understand it well; you quoted my post in which I say that there is a (very) small change it might work with lzma, so did lzma work or not?
And to continue, your problem is actually solved, apart from the file size which is too big. But, maybe, it has to be that size?

BTW; Have you ever tried larch? more documentation of it can be found at its website.

Last edited by Evert7 (2012-05-31 17:27:59)


Website: evertheylen.appspot.com (new!)

Offline

#35 2012-06-02 08:57:09

Evert7
Member
From: Lier, Belgium
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 63
Website

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

vaidotas203 wrote:

*snip*
Okay major new results, the CD boots, now two problems left, but main one is:
Size of file - if I do

mksquashfs squashfs-root root-image.fs.sfs

it make file which I insert in to .iso, but the problem is that it makes file with "mount" and "root-image.fs" which results in file size x2 (but system boot with my changes). But if I go for one of it system does not boot, or end's up with error's at booting.
*snip*

Oh, now I get it.
Did you unmount the .fs first?


Website: evertheylen.appspot.com (new!)

Offline

#36 2012-06-06 12:21:43

vaidotas203
Member
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 31

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

Oh, now I get it.
Did you unmount the .fs first?

If I unmount, file size is normal, but it does not work, if I leave it mounted and make file, file is huge but system works.

I am getting:

losetup: failed to  setup loop device, No such file or directory

Offline

#37 2012-06-10 14:36:59

Evert7
Member
From: Lier, Belgium
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 63
Website

Re: Making custom Live CD of Arch 2012.04.23

Well, I'm out of ideas to make it work. I think you should look at larch or archiso to do it.


Website: evertheylen.appspot.com (new!)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB