You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-04 17:38:47

Thar
Member
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 20

New configuration - is it possible to have modules listed in one file?

My apologies if this has been already answered elsewhere.

Now that modules configuration has been moved out of /etc/rc.conf, I consider the new way - using /etc/modules-load.d/<modulename> - vastly inferior. Having module list scattered all over the place is a pain, and also redundant - it requires both filename AND it's content to point to module, regardless of the fact that these are the same.

So, is it possible at all to use one file and have all the module names in it?

Offline

#2 2012-10-04 17:45:38

Pres
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 423

Re: New configuration - is it possible to have modules listed in one file?

They can all be in one file.

$ cat /etc/modules-load.d/modules.conf 
vboxdrv
vboxnetflt
coretemp
ip_conntrack_ftp

Offline

#3 2012-10-04 17:47:26

ZekeSulastin
Member
Registered: 2010-09-20
Posts: 266

Re: New configuration - is it possible to have modules listed in one file?

Given that both the man page and the wiki article say "The configuration files should a list of kernel module names to load, separated by newlines", I guess it has very much been answered elsewhere.

Offline

#4 2012-10-04 17:48:25

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: New configuration - is it possible to have modules listed in one file?

Yes - please read the man page for full details.

In case it still isn't clear after that, indvidual <package>.conf files are supported to facilitate their distribution with individual packages. Files that you create and maintain yourself can be called <anything>.conf, and can contain any number of module names.

Also, there is nothing Arch-specific in all of this, so this should probably be moved.

Offline

#5 2012-10-04 17:55:11

Thar
Member
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 20

Re: New configuration - is it possible to have modules listed in one file?

Okay, thanks. The example in man shows only the option with one file per module.

Offline

#6 2012-10-04 17:57:28

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,097
Website

Re: New configuration - is it possible to have modules listed in one file?

tomk wrote:

, there is nothing Arch-specific in all of this, so this should probably be moved.


Agreed: moving to Newbie Corner


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB