You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-14 06:37:51

siddhartpai
Member
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 5

Problems with pacman

Having problems with pacman installing xfce4
There are errors like below for many installations
/tmp/alpm_EmMxU1/.INSTALL: line 2: /usr/bin/gtk-update-icon-cache: No such file or directory
error: command failed to execute correctly

Offline

#2 2012-10-14 09:18:32

berbae
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-02-12
Posts: 1,128

Re: Problems with pacman

Install the 'gtk-update-icon-cache' package.

Offline

#3 2012-10-14 14:17:33

ANOKNUSA
Member
Registered: 2010-10-22
Posts: 2,141

Re: Problems with pacman

Post the errors.  Telling us they exist without proof is pointless, and if they're "like" the one you mentioned but not identical, the problem may be more than just one missing package.

@berbae:  Is that actually a required package for XFCE?  If so, shouldn't it be pulled in as a dependency? If it isn't marked as a dependency, then shouldn't a bug report be filed?  If it's not a dependency at all, then how would it help?

Information, people, information.  It's what makes the web go round.

Last edited by ANOKNUSA (2012-10-14 14:19:18)

Offline

#4 2012-10-14 14:20:41

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Problems with pacman

I used pkgfile to see if it was indeed a package, and sure enough, it came up.  I don't use xfce4 though, so not entirely sure what the significance of it is.

Offline

#5 2012-10-14 14:26:01

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,431

Re: Problems with pacman

ANOKNUSA wrote:

Is that actually a required package for XFCE?  If so, shouldn't it be pulled in as a dependency?

Yes, it's a dependency for e.g. xfdesktop, because it's a dependency of gtk2.
You can use 'pactree' to find this out.

Offline

#6 2012-10-14 14:29:47

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Problems with pacman

Wow, pactree... I like learning.  Thanks karol, you are always full of useful stuff.

It seems as though you can only use it for things that are installed on your system.  ie, it will show you the dep tree present on your system., but not the deps required for a given package that you have not installed.

Scratch that last part, I found the sync flag.  Didn't see that at first.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-10-14 14:33:49)

Offline

#7 2012-10-17 00:19:24

ANOKNUSA
Member
Registered: 2010-10-22
Posts: 2,141

Re: Problems with pacman

Huh, pactree is new to me too. I've been here long enough... tongue  I second WonderWoofy's thanks and praise, karol.  So then I suppose the question is, Why isn't it getting pulled in with xfdesktop et al?

Offline

#8 2012-10-17 00:49:04

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,431

Re: Problems with pacman

@ANOKNUSA
It has been around for a looong time. Most "recently" pactree has been re-written in C - about the time you registered on the forum ;P - http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 11776.html and we all should thank Dave (falconindy) for this wonderful tool.
I'm just a messenger.


Without the exact commands OP used to install xfce4 and the errors he got, I have no idea why /usr/bin/gtk-update-icon-cache isn't there.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB