You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-20 07:58:04

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Computer does not resume after suspend.

I am trying to get my computer to suspend to RAM but so far I have been unsuccessful.

I have the following packages installed (pm-utils, acpi, vbetool) I run 'pm-suspend' as root and this happens every time.

1. Computer goes to sleep (screen off, fans off, power LED off)
2. Press the power button to resume, power LED comes on along with the fans.
3. No video, keyboard also seems unresponsive. I cannot blindly login as root and 'reboot' even the caps lock, numlock leds etc dont respond.

I have followed this as best as I can. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pm … stallation

I have also edited my mkinitcpio.conf to add 'resume' and also remove 'autodetect' from the HOOKS.

This is a copy of my /var/log/pm-suspend.log.

https://gist.github.com/4116612#

Thank You.

Last edited by AClarke (2012-11-20 07:58:45)

Offline

#2 2012-11-20 15:55:04

phil
Member
Registered: 2012-09-22
Posts: 72

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

Do you use systemd? Why not use the systemd suspend because I think pm utils is outdated.
In my case it works just fine.
There was a recent problem with nvidia drivers, but that seems to be fixed. Did you choose the right swap partition for your resume parameter?

From the pm-utils wiki page:

Note: If you run into issues when resuming video, it might be necessary to also install vbetool from the official repositories.

From your .log:

vbetool not installed!

Last edited by phil (2012-11-20 15:57:05)

Offline

#3 2012-11-20 16:29:57

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

Thank You for your reply.

vbetools was installed after I noticed that message but it made no difference.

Thinking I might of got carried away a little I have since removed (pm-utils, acpi, vbetool) and also edited 'mkinitcpio.conf' back to it's original setup (adding 'autodetect' and removing 'resume' to get me back to what I had to begin with.

I have tryed the command 'systemctl suspend' while logged into root, it still behaves the same. No video nor keyboard.

I am unsure which error logs to read now, the 'pm-suspend.log' is no longer being written to.

Offline

#4 2012-11-20 20:32:43

phil
Member
Registered: 2012-09-22
Posts: 72

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

Did you change your kernel parameters and added the resume=/dev/sdaX thing there?

This

/etc/default/grub
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="resume=/dev/sda8 quiet"

In my case.

Last edited by phil (2012-11-20 20:38:45)

Offline

#5 2012-11-20 22:04:13

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

I didn't choose to use GRUB for this install.

It's an older machine and the only OS installed is Arch so I opted for Syslinux instead. I did just wander over to the Syslinux Wiki page but there wasn't anything on there that related to suspend to ram.

I had the impression the bootloader would only be relevant if I was trying to hibernate?

Offline

#6 2012-11-20 22:10:26

phil
Member
Registered: 2012-09-22
Posts: 72

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

I think it is also relevant for suspend to ram. I'll have a look on that later.

Offline

#7 2012-11-21 01:25:21

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

The bootloader stuff is only relevant for suspend to disk/hibernate. Not for suspend to RAM/sleep.

What does

cat /sys/power/state

give? I think that may tell you what should work although I'm sure somebody will tell me if I'm wrong about that. For example, I get "mem disk".


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#8 2012-11-21 01:29:59

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

I am also unsure why you are discussing a swap partition for suspend to ram.  This too is totally unnecessary.

Offline

#9 2012-11-21 01:30:53

phil
Member
Registered: 2012-09-22
Posts: 72

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

I am sorry. My mistake...

Offline

#10 2012-11-21 01:34:15

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

'tis okay.  I assume you were reading the thread as if it were suspend to disk.  I just wanted to clarify any confusion.

Offline

#11 2012-11-21 03:06:36

jzhu
Member
Registered: 2012-06-17
Posts: 15

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

current linux kernel doesn't work in every hardware; it may not be your configuration problem. If you post your hardware info, it may help you more.

Offline

#12 2012-11-21 17:34:56

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

cfr wrote:

The bootloader stuff is only relevant for suspend to disk/hibernate. Not for suspend to RAM/sleep.

What does

cat /sys/power/state

give? I think that may tell you what should work although I'm sure somebody will tell me if I'm wrong about that. For example, I get "mem disk".

I also get 'mem disk'.

If it makes a difference I know this machine in it's current configuration would suspend-to-RAM and also wake up succesfully with a previous install of Ubuntu 12.04LTS with the LXDE-Desktop installed.

If there is a command that allows me to post up the hardware info i will post it up but basically it is as follows. (It's all quite outdated hardware)

Pentium 4 3.2Ghz
Gigabyte Motherboard w/ SiS Graphics on-board
768MB RAM
80GB WD HDD

Offline

#13 2012-11-21 21:57:58

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

How does suspending this way interact with systemd? Did you try suspending with systemd first and find that didn't work?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#14 2012-11-21 22:31:57

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

cfr wrote:

How does suspending this way interact with systemd? Did you try suspending with systemd first and find that didn't work?

I first tryed 'systemctl suspend' and it didn't work.

I then started getting carried away with pm-utils etc, which didn't work either. I have since removed all those and i'm back to square one.

Offline

#15 2012-11-21 22:54:57

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

What if you add "acpi_sleep=old_ordering" to the kernel line in your bootloader?

Offline

#16 2012-11-21 23:41:13

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

Does the systemd journal tell you anything about why that fails?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#17 2012-11-22 17:32:13

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

cfr wrote:

Does the systemd journal tell you anything about why that fails?

That is a massive log.

I tried to filter it by typing running the command 'journalctl -u suspend' but it returned nothing.

I scanned though manually, I can clearly see when I have started and shutdown the machine, but nothing in between with regards to the failed resume. I will have a closer look a bit later on.

Last edited by AClarke (2012-11-22 17:33:04)

Offline

#18 2012-11-24 10:20:52

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

Nov 24 10:14:15 iqon su[847]: (to root) ash on /dev/pts/0
Nov 24 10:14:15 iqon su[847]: pam_unix(su:session): session opened for user root by ash(uid=1000)
-- Reboot --
Nov 24 10:15:33 iqon systemd-journal[107]: Allowing runtime journal files to grow to 36.0M.
Nov 24 10:15:33 iqon kernel: Initializing cgroup subsys cpuset
Nov 24 10:15:33 iqon kernel: Initializing cgroup subsys cpu
Nov 24 10:15:33 iqon kernel: Linux version 3.6.6-1-ARCH (tobias@testing) (gcc version 4.7.2 (GCC) ) #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 5 13:14:42 CET 2012

This is a snippet off my 'journalctl'. As you can see I switched to root at 10:14, and then entered 'systemctl suspend'. It shows no other messages until have to hit the physical reset button.

Offline

#19 2012-11-24 11:03:51

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

Have you tried using that "acpi_sleep=old_ordering"?

Offline

#20 2012-11-24 15:02:52

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

lucke wrote:

Have you tried using that "acpi_sleep=old_ordering"?

The result is still the same. I do however get a few extra messages when I run 'journalctl'

Nov 24 14:56:03 iqon su[360]: (to root) ash on /dev/pts/0
Nov 24 14:56:03 iqon su[360]: pam_unix(su:session): session opened for user root by ash(uid=1000)
Nov 24 14:56:13 iqon systemd[1]: Starting Sleep.
Nov 24 14:56:13 iqon systemd[1]: Reached target Sleep.
Nov 24 14:56:13 iqon systemd[1]: Starting Suspend...
Nov 24 14:56:13 iqon systemd-sleep[364]: Suspending system...
-- Reboot --
Nov 24 14:57:11 iqon systemd-journal[108]: Allowing runtime journal files to grow to 36.0M.
Nov 24 14:57:11 iqon kernel: Initializing cgroup subsys cpuset
Nov 24 14:57:11 iqon kernel: Initializing cgroup subsys cpu
Nov 24 14:57:11 iqon kernel: Linux version 3.6.6-1-ARCH (tobias@testing) (gcc version 4.7.2 (GCC) ) #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 5 13:14:42 CET 2012

Does this extra line added to the bootloader require the 'acpi' package to be installed? I'm just grabbing at ideas now though.

Thank You for your help so far.

Offline

#21 2012-11-24 15:31:23

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

acpi_sleep doesn't need acpi installed. You could also try "acpi_sleep=sci_force_enable". You could see if hibernation works (sometimes suspending doesn't work and hibernation does - might give you some clues). You could start sshd and see if you can login to the computer via it after resuming. You could see if anything changes when you use "systemctl suspend", "echo mem > /sys/power/state" or "s2ram" from uswsusp package. You could see if there's anything in the BIOS regarding suspending that you could change. You could install linux-lts and see if it works on it. Or get a 3.2 kernel (that's what Ubuntu 12.04 uses) from the Archlinux Rollback Machine.

Offline

#22 2012-11-24 19:18:31

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

'acpi_sleep=sci_force_enable' gives the same result as the additional kernal parameters above. No fix, just the same extra messages visible in the 'journalctl'

'echo mem > /sys/power/state' also gave the same result.

Oddly though I have noticed, once the PC is suspended and all LEDs, fans etc are off. I can then switch it back on by pressing the Enter key on the keyboard, but after that the keyboard is unresponsive?

Hibernation doesn't work either, the machine fails to shutdown, it just displays a fast blinking cursor in the upper left corner. I did make sure to edit the Syslinux configuration to point to the correct swap-file etc.

Offline

#23 2012-11-24 19:50:51

AClarke
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 10

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

Just installed the Uswsusp package from the AUR and tried that.

The output of 's2ram --test' is

Machine unknown
This machine can be identified by:
    sys_vendor   = "iQon.ie"
    sys_product  = "8S661GXMP"
    sys_version  = "rev 1.1"
    bios_version = "F2"

The command 's2ram --force' gives the same behavior as above.

Offline

#24 2012-11-24 20:20:09

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: Computer does not resume after suspend.

When you are hibernating, how long are you letting the cursor blink and is the HDD active then?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB