You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-01 21:18:13

that_physics_guy
Member
Registered: 2013-02-01
Posts: 2

Trying to run from logical partition - GRUB doesn't detect it

Hi all, I only have a single SSD in my laptop with the following setup (in order on disk):

sda1 - System Reserved
sda2 - Windows 8
sda4 - Extended Partition
    sda5 - Arch 2 (this is where I'm trying to move my Arch install to)
sda3 - Arch (this is the one I can actually boot into
(unallocated space)

This is what I want things to look like eventually:
sda1 - System Reserved
sda2 - Windows 8
sda3 - Extended Partition
    sda4 - Arch
    sda5 - some other distro
    sda6 - storage (I want this accessible by all OSes)

Here's how I think I'm going to do this:
- move Arch installation from after the extended partition to before it (since the extended partition is a big chunk of mostly free space, and I would like it to go last.
- after verifying that I can boot the Arch installation from the logical partition, delete the Arch installation on the primary partition and absorb the free space into the extended partition

Here's what I've done:
- used 'dd if=/dev/sda3 of=/dev/sda5 bs=4096 conv=notrunc,noerror' to clone my working Arch installation to the logical partition (sda5).
- ran 'grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg' to update GRUB and add the logical partition to the list of things to choose from in the Grub menu.
After running 'grub-mkconfig' nothing new was added to the menu. 

Questions:
- Is what I want to do even possible?
     - can I have the logical partition marked for storage be accessible to Windows 8?
- Is there an easier way to do what I want to do?
- How do I get GRUB to detect the logical partition?
     - Is it possible to boot into a logical partition?

Offline

#2 2013-02-01 22:18:07

dag
Member
From: US
Registered: 2013-01-20
Posts: 216

Re: Trying to run from logical partition - GRUB doesn't detect it

wiki shows: set root=lvm/lvm_group_name-lvm_logical_boot_partition_name here grub2


--------------------------------------
alcoves wonder creates the wonder unto the ages; never lose that.

Offline

#3 2013-02-02 01:30:24

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Trying to run from logical partition - GRUB doesn't detect it

grub doesn't always automatically pick up arch installations. Is os-prober installed? You can always add the entry manually e.g. in 40_custom or whatever. Don't forget to adjust fstab.

Just to be clear: you have an MBR formatted disk and are talking about traditional logical partitions, right? Not lvm?

Last edited by cfr (2013-02-02 01:31:48)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#4 2013-02-02 02:11:46

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Trying to run from logical partition - GRUB doesn't detect it

that_physics_guy wrote:

can I have the logical partition marked for storage be accessible to Windows 8?

Just pick a file system that Windows can read. NTFS is a safe choice though, if you prefer, you could format it as Ext2/3/4 and use a third-party utility to allow reading it.

Offline

#5 2013-02-02 02:47:28

dag
Member
From: US
Registered: 2013-01-20
Posts: 216

Re: Trying to run from logical partition - GRUB doesn't detect it

scratch my last post a misunderstanding . have you tried adding to the arch partition with the boot flag.


--------------------------------------
alcoves wonder creates the wonder unto the ages; never lose that.

Offline

#6 2013-02-02 03:18:52

that_physics_guy
Member
Registered: 2013-02-01
Posts: 2

Re: Trying to run from logical partition - GRUB doesn't detect it

@cfr: you are correct, os-prober is installed, I have an MBR formatted disk,  and traditional logical partitions. To add an OS to grub that resides in a logical partition would I have to do something with chain loading?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB