You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-03 03:01:46

Axanon
Member
From: Toronto
Registered: 2010-06-12
Posts: 52

Need 2 separate WAN addresses

I just upgraded my internet package and the new modem I needed doesn't have a USB cable for a second connection. This was great to have because I could run my web server outside the home network, but now I have the web server on the main network.

So what I would like to do is, add a second NIC to the box I am using as a web server, then create a virtual interface. (I've tried this, so I know it does work.), and I can get 2 WAN IP addresses. What I need help with is how to get my router to use one IP, while the other only serves my web traffic. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Axanon (2013-02-03 03:02:12)

Offline

#2 2013-02-03 04:57:33

Axanon
Member
From: Toronto
Registered: 2010-06-12
Posts: 52

Re: Need 2 separate WAN addresses

I just need to get some starting points on what I need to do, i'm not asking anyone to set it up for me tongue

Offline

#3 2013-02-03 08:24:20

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,271

Re: Need 2 separate WAN addresses

Axanon please use the "Edit" button to add some information to a previous post instead of bumping so fast.

Moving this to Newbie Corner.


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

#4 2013-02-03 08:25:43

t0m5k1
Member
From: overthere
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 301

Re: Need 2 separate WAN addresses

sound like you would need a static route setup in your router, how you do that in your router is a different story


AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ - 8GB - GeForce 970 AwesomeWM (occasionally XFCE, i3)

If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!
Linux User: 401820   Last FM

Offline

#5 2013-02-03 20:54:44

Axanon
Member
From: Toronto
Registered: 2010-06-12
Posts: 52

Re: Need 2 separate WAN addresses

here is what i've got now (as an example):
eth0 gets a WAN address 72.39.111.111
virt0 gets a WAN address 72.39.222.222

I want to plug the WAN-in for my router into eth1, and use on virt0 exclusively.
I want all traffic on the computer itself to use eth0 exclusively.

The router is using dd-wrt, so I'm assuming it can be configured to do what I want.

What I don't know is what I should be googling for help here. Can someone explain the basics of what I need to do? Like do I need to create a bridge between eth1 and virt0? I just need some starting points, so I know what to look for. Thanks.

Offline

#6 2013-02-04 14:05:44

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,156

Re: Need 2 separate WAN addresses

yes, you will need to create a bridge between eth1 and virt0 .

I have done something similar (albeit with local lan ip adresses) and used this :
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Kv … Networking


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB