You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-03 23:06:25

giacombum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-03
Posts: 94

Arch and GRUB

I've installed Arch in the same hdd where there were installed Debian and Win7. I've done the update-grub in Debian, Arch installation is been founded and everything seems ok.

But when I try to boot Arch via grub, randomically it fails to found the Arch partition, while for Debian and Win7 I haven't any problem. What can I check? Can you help me?

Offline

#2 2013-02-03 23:13:17

mattyboy11
Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 4

Re: Arch and GRUB

Can you show your grub file config

Offline

#3 2013-02-04 18:48:05

giacombum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-03
Posts: 94

Re: Arch and GRUB

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="3"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  insmod vbe
  insmod vga
  insmod video_bochs
  insmod video_cirrus
}

insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos7)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 44052a8f-381d-440b-bc68-4d26ab4204a1
if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
  set gfxmode=1280x1024
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos7)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 44052a8f-381d-440b-bc68-4d26ab4204a1
set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
set lang=it
insmod gettext
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos7)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 44052a8f-381d-440b-bc68-4d26ab4204a1
insmod png
if background_image /usr/share/images/desktop-base/spacefun-grub.png; then
  set color_normal=light-gray/black
  set color_highlight=white/black
else
  set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
  set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.32-5-amd64' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	set root='(hd0,msdos7)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 44052a8f-381d-440b-bc68-4d26ab4204a1
	echo	'Loading Linux 2.6.32-5-amd64 ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-amd64 root=UUID=44052a8f-381d-440b-bc68-4d26ab4204a1 ro  quiet splash nomodeset video=uvesafb:mode_option=1280x1024-24,mtrr=3,scroll=ywrap
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-5-amd64
}
menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.32-5-amd64 (recovery mode)' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	set root='(hd0,msdos7)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 44052a8f-381d-440b-bc68-4d26ab4204a1
	echo	'Loading Linux 2.6.32-5-amd64 ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-amd64 root=UUID=44052a8f-381d-440b-bc68-4d26ab4204a1 ro single 
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-5-amd64
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sdb1)" {
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ntfs
	set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 3ac49844c49803f3
	chainloader +1
}
menuentry "Arch (on /dev/sdb5)" {
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set b9ebe48e-84ea-43e8-9704-071d4fb12374
	linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sdb5
	initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
#menuentry "Arch (on /dev/sdb5)" {
#    insmod part_msdos
#    insmod ext2
#    set root='a1763fe4-cfe9-4180-aea9-c0d87f644f70'
#    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set a1763fe4-cfe9-4180-aea9-c0d87f644f70
#    linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=a1763fe4-cfe9-4180-aea9-c0d87f644f70 init=/sbin/e4rat-preload
#    initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
#}
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

This is my grub.cfg in debian installation.

Offline

#4 2013-02-13 08:03:28

giacombum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-03
Posts: 94

Re: Arch and GRUB

Up!
The problem is not solverd but is randomic: sometimes I have to reboot 5-6 times ti login in Arch, sometimes all goes well at first attempt...

Offline

#5 2013-02-13 08:25:49

David Batson
Member
Registered: 2011-10-13
Posts: 640

Re: Arch and GRUB

It strikes me odd that Arch is on hd0 and sdb.  hdo should be the first hard drive and sdb the second in my understanding

Why don't you try disabling os-prober in Debian and uncommenting the lines in /etc/grub.d/40_custom beginning with menuentry...  Then rebuild grub.cfg (I think Debian uses update-grub for this).  Using the UUID (assuming it is the correct one - you can verify with the blkid command) should bypass drive and partition identification problems.

To disable os-prober, add the following line to /etc/default/grub (or other similar grub configuration file there - as names might be different in Debian).

GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true

Offline

#6 2013-02-13 14:33:16

giacombum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-03
Posts: 94

Re: Arch and GRUB

I try this evening at home... thanks!

Offline

#7 2013-02-15 06:57:20

giacombum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-03
Posts: 94

Re: Arch and GRUB

Everything is fine, thanks!!!

Offline

#8 2013-02-15 16:55:25

fawkes5
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2012-12-23
Posts: 84

Re: Arch and GRUB

Mark as solved?

Offline

#9 2013-02-16 09:38:47

giacombum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-03
Posts: 94

Re: Arch and GRUB

Yes thnaks!!!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB