You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-21 04:15:09

Anders H
Member
From: Reno, NV
Registered: 2011-07-31
Posts: 43
Website

[Solved] GRUB2 and Win 8 on raid 0

Hello all,

Currently I have my system set up in the following config, (hd0) and (hd1) set up in raid 0 for my windows 8
install. Separately (hd2) is my arch linux install where I spend most of my time.
I have been choosing what system to boot into from the BIOS but this is cluncky and now I want to load windows 8 from GRUB,
when I run grub-mkconfig GRUB detects windows and creates a menu entry for it, but when I boot up the entry I only get
this.

 

invalid signature

Well I checked the wiki and there was a fix for the issue but the file that is supposed to be removed is not on my system. So
now I'm at a loss as to what the issue is. Below is my grub.cfg file and my /etc/default/grub, one thing I do notice about
this is that insmod mdraid is not part of the menu entry for windows when the wiki says it should be for raid. Is
there something that I am missing?

#                                                                                                                                    
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE                                                                                                              
#                                                                                                                                    
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates                                                                     
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub                                                                               
#                                                                                                                                    
                                                                                                                                     
### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###                                                                                                  
insmod part_gpt                                                                                                                      
insmod part_msdos                                                                                                                    
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then                                                                                                      
  load_env                                                                                                                           
fi
set default="0"

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd2,msdos3'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos3 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos3 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos3  
03799801-f6b7-4354-97eb-350e203e6cf9
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 03799801-f6b7-4354-97eb-350e203e6cf9
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os 
$menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-true-03799801-f6b7-4354-97eb-350e203e6cf9' {
        load_video
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd2,msdos1'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos1  
9adde22a-6bf9-4650-b321-625762901919
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9adde22a-6bf9-4650-b321-625762901919
        fi
        echo    'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
        linux   /vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=03799801-f6b7-4354-97eb-350e203e6cf9 ro  nomodeset security=tomoyo
        echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd  /initramfs-linux.img
}
menuentry 'Arch GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel (Fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu 
--class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-fallback-03799801-f6b7-4354-97eb-350e203e6cf9' {
        load_video
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd2,msdos1'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos1  
9adde22a-6bf9-4650-b321-625762901919
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9adde22a-6bf9-4650-b321-625762901919
        fi
        echo    'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
        linux   /vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=03799801-f6b7-4354-97eb-350e203e6cf9 ro  nomodeset security=tomoyo
        echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd  /initramfs-linux-fallback.img
}
menuentry 'Arch GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel (recovery mode)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os 
$menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-recovery-03799801-f6b7-4354-97eb-350e203e6cf9' {
        load_video
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd2,msdos1'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos1  
9adde22a-6bf9-4650-b321-625762901919
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9adde22a-6bf9-4650-b321-625762901919
        fi
        echo    'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
        linux   /vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=03799801-f6b7-4354-97eb-350e203e6cf9 ro single 
        echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd  /initramfs-linux-fallback.img
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Windows 8 (loader) (on /dev/mapper/pdc_fibaedjhfp1)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 
'osprober-chain-/dev/mapper/pdc_fibaedjhfp1' {
        drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
        chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
 

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_TIMEOUT=5
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR="Arch"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="nomodeset security=tomoyo"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

# Preload both GPT and MBR modules so that they are not missed
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="part_gpt part_msdos"

# Uncomment to enable Hidden Menu, and optionally hide the timeout count
#GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=5
#GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true

# Uncomment to use basic console
GRUB_TERMINAL_INPUT=console

# Uncomment to disable graphical terminal
#GRUB_TERMINAL_OUTPUT=console

# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
GRUB_GFXMODE=auto

# Uncomment to allow the kernel use the same resolution used by grub
#GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

# Uncomment if you want GRUB to pass to the Linux kernel the old parameter 
# format "root=/dev/xxx" instead of "root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/xxx" 
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

# Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
#GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY=true

# Uncomment and set to the desired menu colors.  Used by normal and wallpaper 
# modes only.  Entries specified as foreground/background.
#GRUB_COLOR_NORMAL="light-blue/black"
#GRUB_COLOR_HIGHLIGHT="light-cyan/blue"

# Uncomment one of them for the gfx desired, a image background or a gfxtheme
#GRUB_BACKGROUND="/path/to/wallpaper"
#GRUB_THEME="/path/to/gfxtheme"

# Uncomment to get a beep at GRUB start
#GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"

#GRUB_SAVEDEFAULT="true"

Last edited by Anders H (2013-05-25 22:29:19)

Offline

#2 2013-05-24 21:06:38

jacobopantoja
Member
From: Madrid
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 44

Re: [Solved] GRUB2 and Win 8 on raid 0

It seems that your menuentry for Windows is incomplete. Try to mimic this one

http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=18108

Also, ensure that you have the dmraid module (NOT mdraid) and doing again the os-prober stuff.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _Fake_RAID

However, I'm more convinced everyday that Arch users should make their own grub.cfg overriding the auto-generated stuff, since it is absolutely bloated.

Offline

#3 2013-05-25 22:28:54

Anders H
Member
From: Reno, NV
Registered: 2011-07-31
Posts: 43
Website

Re: [Solved] GRUB2 and Win 8 on raid 0

Thank you for the reply, it helped alot.

Here is what I did,

I used

 # blkid 

to figure out the UUID of the drive, OS-Prober was finding the correct UUID but the format was all messed up. The format of the menu entry that you linked to worked just fine, this is what I have added to

/etc/grub.d/40_custom

 

menuentry "Windows 8 Loader" {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ntfs
    set root='(/dev/mapper/pdc_fibaedjhfp1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 2262C76C62C74371
    chainloader +1
}

Everything is booting just fine, thanks for the help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB