You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-09 01:55:55

grimx
Member
Registered: 2010-07-31
Posts: 27

Desktop distorted

Every time I open an application,the screen gets completely filled with lines
and I can't use the keyboard.


Arch 64Bit
x86_64 AMD Sempron(tm) Processor LE-1300
2 GIGS RAM, 500 GIG Hard Drive
NVIDIA GeForce 6160 SE integrated graphics

Offline

#2 2013-06-09 02:00:32

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,086
Website

Re: Desktop distorted

Please read How To Ask Questions The Smart Way and then edit your post to include, at a minimum:

  • details about your graphics card and drivers

  • relevant logs, ie., Xorg

  • what DE/WM you are using

  • whether you have tested with a minimal wm, like twm

  • etc...

What you have initially posted in not enough information to help anyone who wants to assist you do more that just ask these sorts of questions.
If you are looking for help, that is your job.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#3 2013-06-09 02:05:16

grimx
Member
Registered: 2010-07-31
Posts: 27

Re: Desktop distorted

I am using Openbox and running nouveau with Nvidia GeForce 6150SE nForce 430


Arch 64Bit
x86_64 AMD Sempron(tm) Processor LE-1300
2 GIGS RAM, 500 GIG Hard Drive
NVIDIA GeForce 6160 SE integrated graphics

Offline

#4 2013-06-09 02:13:10

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,086
Website

Re: Desktop distorted

All of the other information is too sensitive to share? Fair enough.


Moving to Newbie Corner...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#5 2013-06-09 03:01:46

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,570
Website

Re: Desktop distorted

grimx wrote:

Every time I open an application,the screen gets completely filled with lines

Are you using a GTK theme that's completely filled with lines?

I can't use the keyboard.

What's causing you to not be able to use the keyboard? Did your arms fall asleep? If you can't use the keyboard, then how did you open the application?

Offline

#6 2013-06-09 05:55:50

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,535
Website

Re: Desktop distorted

grimx wrote:

I am using Openbox and running nouveau with Nvidia GeForce 6150SE nForce 430

jasonwryan wrote:

All of the other information is too sensitive to share? Fair enough.


Moving to Newbie Corner...

To be fair, he did share everything except the Xorg log, which is probably the most important piece of information though tongue

Offline

#7 2013-06-10 01:33:35

oboenerd
Member
From: Right behind you.
Registered: 2012-08-15
Posts: 52

Re: Desktop distorted

A photo wouldn't hurt either.  (pics or it didn't happen!)

Last edited by oboenerd (2013-06-10 01:34:09)


"I quoted myself." -oboenerd

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB