You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-17 23:37:38

Tudhalyas
Member
From: Bergamo (Italy)
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 10

[SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

Hello fellow Archers! smile
I just upgraded my Xfce installation to version 4.8, but I have a weird problem with xfce4-panel. After upgrading the system via pacman I've rebooted, and after logging in I couldn't see the Xfce's panel anymore! Moreover, a dialog box pops up saying that "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found". I've tried to fix this issue by launching xfce4-panel through a terminal, and then saving the session before logging out. Now when I log in, I can finally see the panel, but the pop up window keeps coming out every single time. Do you have any suggestions on what could be the issue?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Tudhalyas (2011-01-18 12:15:03)


When others think you can, prove them right. When others think you can't, prove them wrong.

Offline

#2 2011-01-17 23:50:35

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

Have you tried removing your current Xfce settings and starting fresh?

mv ~/.config/xfce4 ~/.config/xfce4old

Then logout and login again.

Offline

#3 2011-01-17 23:54:53

Tudhalyas
Member
From: Bergamo (Italy)
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

Yup I tried that, nothing to do. sad Do you have any other suggestion?


When others think you can, prove them right. When others think you can't, prove them wrong.

Offline

#4 2011-01-17 23:59:02

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

What about removing the ~/.config/xfce4-session folder?

Also check ~/.config/autostart for Xfce stuff.

Last edited by anonymous_user (2011-01-17 23:59:39)

Offline

#5 2011-01-18 00:08:58

Tudhalyas
Member
From: Bergamo (Italy)
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

The directory was empty (with no hidden files inside), I deleted it anyway and I'm still experiencing the issue...

~/.config/autostart contains these Xfce-related files:

xfce4-settings-helper-autostart.desktop
xfce4-tips-autostart.desktop
xfconf-migration-4.6.desktop

I guess that they're not related to the panel in any way...


When others think you can, prove them right. When others think you can't, prove them wrong.

Offline

#6 2011-01-18 00:35:13

goetzkluge
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 60
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

1st issue: I experienced the same trouble in an user account. In my own account (an admin account) the migration went fine.

In the user account I first have to click away several identical messages complaining about the panel issue. Then I get with right-click on the desktop to a menu via which I can call a shell. In the shell I enter "xfce4-panel", then the panel shows up. After quiting from the shell it of course goes away - and then shows up again.

Unfortunately, after next xsession, the problem shows up again.



2nd issue: The XFCE4 "Places" plugin has to be "removed" after the panel shows up.

Offline

#7 2011-01-18 00:54:11

Maki
Member
From: Skopje, Macedonia
Registered: 2007-10-16
Posts: 345
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

on my machine xfdeskyop freezes and runs wasting alot of resources. archlinux64 with nvidia non-free


If it ain't broke, broke it then fix it.

Offline

#8 2011-01-18 02:19:03

goetzkluge
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 60
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

Quick&dirty workaround in the user account (see above): After starting xfce4-panel in the shell, I saved the session settings manually (as I chose not to save the settings automatically on exit). The next time xfce starts, the panel is there. The dirty part of quick&dirty: The user has to click away three error messages. For the time being that will do - until I find a better solution.

(By the way: In the desktop settings I had to disable the display of removable drives on the desktop.)

Offline

#9 2011-01-18 05:45:50

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

I also had the error messages and solved it by clearing the session cache ( ~/.cache/sessions/...). Try it out.

Offline

#10 2011-01-18 12:14:26

Tudhalyas
Member
From: Bergamo (Italy)
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

AndyRTR wrote:

I also had the error messages and solved it by clearing the session cache ( ~/.cache/sessions/...). Try it out.

It works! Thank you a lot, Andy!

Also, many thanks to everybody who partecipated in this thread. This community is awesome!

Last edited by Tudhalyas (2011-01-18 12:22:14)


When others think you can, prove them right. When others think you can't, prove them wrong.

Offline

#11 2011-04-22 12:25:55

Behemot
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

Did not help. I am starting to be somehow crazy about this.

Offline

#12 2011-04-23 07:29:49

rwd
Member
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 646

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

Behemot you'd better start a different thread. May be a different issue as this one is solved.
isn't it supposed to start from /etc/xdg/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-session.xml ? Here's what's in mine:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<channel name="xfce4-session" version="1.0">
  <property name="general" type="empty">
    <property name="FailsafeSessionName" type="string" value="Failsafe"/>
  </property>
  <property name="sessions" type="empty">
    <property name="Failsafe" type="empty">
      <property name="IsFailsafe" type="bool" value="true"/>
      <property name="Count" type="int" value="5"/>
      <property name="Client0_Command" type="array">
        <value type="string" value="xfwm4"/>
      </property>
      <property name="Client0_PerScreen" type="bool" value="false"/>
      <property name="Client1_Command" type="array">
        <value type="string" value="xfce4-panel"/>
      </property>
      <property name="Client1_PerScreen" type="bool" value="false"/>
      <property name="Client2_Command" type="array">
        <value type="string" value="Thunar"/>
        <value type="string" value="--daemon"/>
      </property>
      <property name="Client2_PerScreen" type="bool" value="false"/>
      <property name="Client3_Command" type="array">
        <value type="string" value="xfdesktop"/>
      </property>
      <property name="Client3_PerScreen" type="bool" value="false"/>
      <property name="Client4_Command" type="array">
        <value type="string" value="xfce4-settings-helper"/>
      </property>
      <property name="Client4_PerScreen" type="bool" value="false"/>
    </property>
  </property>
  <property name="splash" type="empty">
    <property name="Engine" type="string" value=""/>
  </property>
</channel>

Last edited by rwd (2011-04-23 07:32:04)

Offline

#13 2011-06-16 03:34:11

beretta
Member
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 133

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

Behemot:

Try logging out of xfce. Then, from the normal terminal, clear out ~/.cache/sessions.
(If you're using a login manager, log out of xfce and use ctl-alt-f1 to get to a normal login to do this.)

Offline

#14 2011-06-28 20:43:04

vasyabelkin
Member
Registered: 2009-09-10
Posts: 19

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

AndyRTR wrote:

clearing the session cache ( ~/.cache/sessions/...)

Thank you! It helped

Offline

#15 2016-06-28 16:05:32

kcdtv
Member
Registered: 2016-06-28
Posts: 2
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

This is still working in 2016!
I had exactly the same issue so I deleted everything in

~/.cache/sessions/

And now everything works fine!
Thank you so much.

Offline

#16 2016-06-28 16:07:46

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,136

Re: [SOLVED] Xfce 4.8, "no running instance of xfce4-panel has been found"

Using this opportunity to close this really old thread.

Kcdtv, glad it is working for you, and welcome to the Arch Linux forums smile


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB