You are not logged in.

#1 2022-08-06 07:58:15

vf
Member
Registered: 2020-04-07
Posts: 63

No screen detection

On Linux 5.18.16-arch1-1 #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC x86_64 GNU/Linux using WayLand kool desktop environment on Xorg gnome desktop manager. All running on GTX 970 on latest proprietary nVidia desktop drivers

0 - I'm interacting with my graphical session into my window manager https://fossbytes.com/wp-content/upload … a-5.18.jpg
1 - I unplug a screen (for whatever reason, accidentally, because I wanted it (physically), because of a glitch in screen identification by the computer (virtually), etc.) https://readytodiy.com/wp-content/uploa … king-1.jpg
2 - The displaying is re-calibrated to only display on the screen who still connected
3 - I re-plug the screen https://readytodiy.com/wp-content/uploa … king-1.jpg
4 - No output detected on the re-plugged screen https://linustechtips.com/uploads/month … a8cc8.jpeg
5 - I switch to random virtual terminals until the re-plugged screen is detected by the computer and it starts outputting something https://www.computernetworkingnotes.org … xample.png https://i.stack.imgur.com/AV7tV.png
6 - I switch to the virtual terminal who was hosting my window manager
7 - No window manager anymore here https://i.stack.imgur.com/AEwTI.png
8 - I switch to the virtual terminal who was hosting my display manager https://d33wubrfki0l68.cloudfront.net/e … _login.png
9 - I log a new time into it https://linux-cdn.softpedia.com/screens … heme_1.png
10 - It redirects me to the virtual who was hosting my window manager with still nothing https://i.stack.imgur.com/AEwTI.png
11 - I find no solution other than loose my session and rebooting from a virtual terminal who is hosting a teletypewriter http://benjr.tw/wp-content/uploads/2013 … reboot.png

How to keep my session when I loose the connection with the window manager? (step 11)
Or better, how to regain connection to my window manager in the same situation? (step 10)
Or better, how to make the computer automatically re-calibrate the re-plugged screen without those workarounds? (step 5)
Or better, how to avoid glitches who disconnect the screen virtually from the computer, occasioning all those disruptances (when it's not by my fault with physical disconnect of course)? (step 1)

I heard about a problem about Haswell processors chipset and high-definition multimedia interface. But I heard that it was mitigated on the kernel level so it shouldn't cause any problem anymore

Pacman related local packages

local/fetchmirrors 0.6-4
local/mirrorlist-rankmirrors-hook 2-1
local/octopi 0.13.0-1
local/pacman 6.0.1-7 (base-devel)
local/pacman-contrib 1.6.0-1
local/pacman-mirrorlist 20220724-1
local/pkgfile 21-2
local/pm2ml 2021.11.20.1-2
local/python3-xcpf 2021.12-1

Last edited by vf (Today 08:40:47)

Offline

#2 2022-08-10 13:38:14

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 10,245

Re: No screen detection

Instead of telling  a story with many pictures but without real info, give us information useful for troubleshooting.

Which display manager and window manager are you using ?
X  or wayland ?

output of

$ uname -a
$ pacman -Qs pacman

?


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#3 Today 06:36:21

vf
Member
Registered: 2020-04-07
Posts: 63

Re: No screen detection

up

Offline

#4 Today 06:56:46

Offline

#5 Today 07:15:18

vf
Member
Registered: 2020-04-07
Posts: 63

Re: No screen detection

I've already replied

I'm sure my post lacks of a lot of things, but comparing rapidly with catB I can't find what it lacks. Do you have ideas of what to add?

Offline

#6 Today 07:30:57

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 10,245

Re: No screen detection

I asked 4 questions, you answered one of them.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#7 Today 07:45:40

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,865

Re: No screen detection

Next up: don't edit an older post to answer questions - that's worse than top-posting and forces everyone to read your WoT again to filter out the answer(s) - even if they guess that you edited it in "reply"
For people like you it's usually most effective to simply just post the system journal, but wading through your WoT:

1. instead of looking at some dead VT, check (from the TTY console you move to) whether the session process/kwin_wayland is still running
2. Your GPU & used driver will be incredibly relevant here
3. Try to enable the "undetected" output w/ systemsettings/kscreen instead of juggling VTs

Offline

#8 Today 08:39:33

vf
Member
Registered: 2020-04-07
Posts: 63

Re: No screen detection

> Which display manager

Paragraph one

> window manager are you using ?

Paragraph one

> X  or wayland ?

Paragraph one

> uname -a

Paragraph one

> pacman -Qs pacman

Two last paragraphs

---

What is WoT?

Which VT you consider "dead"? The one who was used to display the WM and now just stays black? VT where nobody is logged on?

Most of the time all my programs are still running when I check top, it's like they lost connection to session, or session lost it to me. I have to check more precisely at next occurence considering that it can vary

I use a GTX 970 on latest proprietary nVidia desktop drivers

I can't manipulate SystemSettings5 if the whole WM isn't here anymore (step 7). I had the possibility to rely on xRandr with X11, but now it's more difficult. I heard about a Gnome adaptation for that though

"juggling" is the only way I find to reanimate the screen effectively

At step 4 no screen is detected, so SystemSettings5 will not show anything relevant, otherwise I wouldn't be here. Instead I will have posted something on KDE support asking for "auto-mounting" of newly detected monitors

Offline

#9 Today 08:51:04

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,865

Re: No screen detection

"Wall of Text"

Which VT you consider "dead"? The one who was used to display the WM and now just stays black?

What else do you think I could have meant?

I can't manipulate SystemSettings5 if the whole WM isn't here anymore (step 7)

seth wrote:

instead of juggling VTs

At step 4 no screen is detected, so SystemSettings5 will not show anything relevant

I assume this only refers to the previously manipulated screen (there's a remaining one) and that would have been relevant information…

Do you have https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NVIDIA … de_setting enabled? If not, do so. If that doesn't help either, post the entire system journal after re-plugging the screen so this thread maybe can get somewhere…
inb4

sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'file=@-' 0x0.st

Offline

#10 Today 10:39:20

vf
Member
Registered: 2020-04-07
Posts: 63

Re: No screen detection

What information would have been relevant? Like I said the not detected screen isn't detected, so the OS doesn't tell anything about it, and neither SystemSettings5. At least I don't remember seeing anything relevant in the journals by head

DRM KMS is activated on my system

Replugging the screen doesn't make the system react, so no log relevant. And this problem occured 1 week ago, not during the actual boot

But yeah, I should find where i occured in time and pull out logs, but I remember not finding anything relevant

Offline

#11 Today 11:19:07

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,865

Re: No screen detection

Post your system journal if you want this to go anywhere - and figure whether the output shows up in /sys/class/drm/ after plugging the output.

Offline

#12 Today 13:39:22

vf
Member
Registered: 2020-04-07
Posts: 63

Re: No screen detection

Nothing changes in this folder while un/plugging the screen, neither number of entries, neither where those entries point to. Remark, nothing change even when doing that with the functional screen

Last edited by vf (Today 13:43:39)

Offline

#13 Today 14:23:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,865

Re: No screen detection

Are there any /sys/class/drm/card* directories at all? Do they contain edid files?
Because if not, you don't have nvidia-drm.modeset=1 enabled…

Offline

#14 Today 15:04:26

vf
Member
Registered: 2020-04-07
Posts: 63

Re: No screen detection

I have 5 card who points to /sys/devices/pci///drm/card0/card0-*
1 render who points to /sys/devices/pci///drm/render*
1 version

The HDMI one seems to have an EDID, it's the screen I use and that works. The DP one has no EDID (empty file) considering that I keep the second screen plugged off to not get a freeze of the WM

The EDID part works flawlessly, showing less than one second after I manipulate the screen cable an update, showing or removing actual EDID of the screen un/plugged. Wether it's the functionnal screen or the screen causing the problem. Though the DE still freeze definitively as soon as I plug the problematic monitor

Last edited by vf (Today 15:13:59)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB