You are not logged in.

#1 2024-07-10 13:13:02

dete
Member
Registered: 2024-05-29
Posts: 18

Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

So ive got a new laptop and installed there fresh arch linux (6.9.8). During insulation form live usb there was no problem with wlan0 interface (aka wifi). But once ive installed it then to make wlan0 visible i have to run

modprobe -r iwlwifi 

and

modprobe -v iwlwifi 

Any ideas why its happening and what can i do about it?

Last edited by dete (2024-07-10 13:13:16)

Offline

#2 2024-07-10 19:10:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,422

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

There're probably iwlwifi related issues in your system journal, in doubt post it.

Offline

#3 2024-07-10 19:20:37

dete
Member
Registered: 2024-05-29
Posts: 18

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

here it is

http://0x0.st/XMe-.txt

I dont see anything obvious
note:

 modprobe -r iwlwifi && modprobe iwlwifi && date
10 lip 2024, 21:18:29 CEST
 

Last edited by dete (2024-07-10 19:20:49)

Offline

#4 2024-07-10 19:33:22

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,422

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

Disable systemd-networkd.
Before reloading iwlwifi, what's the status of rfkill?
The nic doesn't show up in "ip l" at this point?

The wlan0 device doesn't get renamed - do you have iwd installed?
"netconf_timeout" is for dhcpcd, it's not running (nor should it when using NM)

Edit: one more thing, you seem to have iwlwifi in the initramfs - what if you don't?

Last edited by seth (2024-07-10 19:50:54)

Offline

#5 2024-07-11 17:23:34

dete
Member
Registered: 2024-05-29
Posts: 18

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

seth wrote:

Disable systemd-networkd.

disabled, no changes

seth wrote:

Before reloading iwlwifi, what's the status of rfkill?

rfkill returns nothing

seth wrote:

The nic doesn't show up in "ip l" at this point?

yes, it doesnt show until i reload iwlfwifi with modprobe

seth wrote:

The wlan0 device doesn't get renamed - do you have iwd installed?

yes

seth wrote:

"netconf_timeout" is for dhcpcd, it's not running (nor should it when using NM)

ok i will get rid of it

seth wrote:

Edit: one more thing, you seem to have iwlwifi in the initramfs - what if you don't?

what do you mean? i mean how to remove it?
edit:
ive added module_blacklist=iwlwifi during boot, but then i cant reload this module cuz its not permitted

Last edited by dete (2024-07-11 17:56:27)

Offline

#6 2024-07-11 21:26:22

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,422

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

what do you mean? i mean how to remove it?

Probably by not adding it:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Mkinit … figuration

blacklisting is wrong here, but modprobe.blacklist=iwlwifi would still permit explicit loading, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Kernel … and_line_2

Offline

#7 2024-07-12 07:38:46

dete
Member
Registered: 2024-05-29
Posts: 18

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

$ cat /etc/mkinitcpio.conf
MODULES=""
BINARIES=""
FILES=""
HOOKS="base udev autodetect keyboard keymap consolefont modconf block netconf dropbear encryptssh lvm2 filesystems fsck"
$ sudo ls /etc/mkinitcpio.conf.d/*
zsh: no matches found: /etc/mkinitcpio.conf.d/*

its not there

Offline

#8 2024-07-12 07:54:54

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,422

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

Likely gets dragged in by "netconf dropbear"

lsinitcpio /boot/initramfs-linux*.img | grep iwlwifi

will show whether it's in the initramfs.
Unfortunately i don't think it's possible to explicitly exclude modules from the initramfs, so you'd have to try w/o dropbear.

Offline

#9 2024-07-12 08:30:09

dete
Member
Registered: 2024-05-29
Posts: 18

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

Without netconf it works w/o any flaws, thanks a lot!

I will drop it and dropbear as its not really needed, just fancy feature.

Last edited by dete (2024-07-12 08:30:23)

Offline

#10 2024-07-12 12:05:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,422

Re: Issue with wlan - need re-move and add to modprobe iwlwifi

There's even an open bug, https://github.com/grazzolini/mkinitcpi … /issues/20

Please always remember to mark resolved threads by editing your initial posts subject - so others will know that there's no task left, but maybe a solution to find.
Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB